Practice & Industry Groups

Corporate Governance

The Corporate Governance Practice Group focuses on exchanging best practices and sharing developments in our multiple jurisdictions regarding governance advice to public and private companies, not-for-profit entities, boards, committees of directors, individual directors, trustees and executive officers. Group members deal with matters involving fiduciary duties, compliance and governance policies, executive evaluation and succession planning, confidentiality regarding corporate opportunities, conflicts and dualities of interest and related party transactions, director education and crisis management.

Many members also bring a special focus on anti-corruption, sharing insights and experience in global anti-corruption defense and other complex multinational challenges. They come together to collaborate for member firm clients in providing related services such as conducting internal investigations, and developing and delivering customized multinational training and compliance programs adapted with local laws, customs and culture in mind.

Resources

Legal Update

The various changes to the so-called debt waiver provisions in section 19 of the South African Income Tax Act, 1962 and paragraph 12A of the Eighth Schedule to the Act in terms of the Taxation Laws Amendment Acts of 2017 and 2018 have come and gone.

Legal Update, Member Firm News

Our new research indicated that Australia's renewable energy sector is set to boom in the year ahead and global investors are waking up to the market's abundant opportunities. Our new report, developed in partnership with Acuris, canvased the opinions of global renewable energy investors and sector.

Legal Update

The objective of this amendment is to protect minority shareholders’ interests and to bring the Companies Act in line with international best practice.

Members
Main Contact
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Young Ahn Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea youngsoo.ahn@bkl.co.kr
Rita Albuquerque PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal 351213197361 rita.albuquerque@plmj.pt
Carlos Alfaro Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +54 11 4393 3003 cealfaro@alfarolaw.com
Richard Baltz Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Colombia - U.S.A. richard.baltz@aporter.com
Constantine Boulougouris MinterEllison Sydney, Australia +612 9921 4368 c.boulougouris@minterellison.com
Maria da Conceio Cabacos PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal mariaconceicao.cabacos@plmj.pt
Bob Calmes Arendt & Medernach New York, New York - U.S.A. 352 40 78 78 234 bob.calmes@arendt.com
Florencia Castagnola Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +29 021 515 fcastagnola@guyer.com.uy
Lorraine Cheah Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 603 2027 2906 l_cheah@shearndelamore.com
Vincent Dirckx CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium +322 743 6985 vincent.dirckx@cms-db.com
Melania Dittel Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2800 melania.dittel@ariaslaw.com
Jonathan Edwards Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. +1 404 962 6470 jonathan.edwards@millermartin.com
Dimitris Emvalomenos Bahas, Gramatidis & Partners Athens, Greece d.emvalomenos@bahagram.com
Douglas Gray Locke Lord LLP Providence, Rhode Island - U.S.A. 401.276.6673 douglas.gray@lockelord.com
Thomas Grohman Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. +1 206 223 7044 grohmant@lanepowell.com
Cedric Guyot CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium +322 743 69 65 cedric.guyot@cms-db.com
Steven Haas Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP Houston, Texas - U.S.A. +1 804 788 7217 shaas@HuntonAK.com
Richard Hammarvid Setterwalls Gothenburg, Sweden +46 31 701 1720 richard.hammarvid@setterwalls.se
Thomas Harrold Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. +1 404 962 6402 Tom.Harrold@millermartin.com
Ian Hayes ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa ihayes@ensafrica.com
Karsten Heider CMS Germany Stuttgart, Germany Karsten.Heider@cms-hs.com
April Holland Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8296 april.holland@millermartin.com
Lewis Horowitz Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. +1 206 223 7401 horowitzl@lanepowell.com
Chems Idrissi Soulier AARPI Lyon, France c.idrissi@soulier-avocats.com
Thomas (Jeff) Jefferson Locke Lord LLP Providence, Rhode Island - U.S.A. +1 401 276 6417 jeff.jefferson@lockelord.com
Doron Joffe ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa +27 11 269 7600 djoffe@ENSafrica.com
Philippe Johnson Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada +1 514 841 6501 pjohnson@dwpv.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Martika Jonk CMS Netherlands Amsterdam, Netherlands +31 65 538 4343 martika.jonk@cms-dsb.com
Amitjivan Joshi Vaish Associates New Delhi, India +91 22 4213 4118 amit@vaishlaw.com
Steven Kaplan Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Colombia - U.S.A. +1 202 942 5998 steven.kaplan@arnoldporter.com
Avik Karmakar Vaish Associates New Delhi, India avik@vaishlaw.com
Gregor Kennedy CMS Russia Moscow, Russia gregor.kennedy@cmslegal.ru
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Oduvaldo Lara Junior TozziniFreire Advogados São Paulo, Brazil 551150865149 olara@tozzinifreire.com.br
Carl Leermakers CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium 32 2 743 69 12 carl.leermakers@cms-db.com
William Lin Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. +1 206 223 7982 linw@lanepowell.com
Vicente Lines Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2810 vicente.lines@ariaslaw.com
Anastasia Makarova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia anastasia.makarova@cmslegal.ru
Sumit Masrungson Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand sumit@ctlo.com
Matthew McTygue Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. +1 617 239 0494 matt.mctygue@lockelord.com
K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2921 shanti@shearndelamore.com
Michael Morgan Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. +1 206 223 7013 morganm@lanepowell.com
Kathleen Murphy Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1155 Kathleen.Murphy@dbr.com
Kobchai Nitungkorn Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand kobchai.n@chandlermhm.com
Teresa Noceto Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina tnoceto@alfarolaw.com
Putri Noor Shariza Noordin Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 603 2027 2826 shariza@shearndelamore.com
Marhaini Nordin Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2853 marhaini@shearndelamore.com
Zaman Ozer Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey zozer@herguner.av.tr
Arkrapol Pichedvanichok Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand arkrapol.p@chandlermhm.com
Matt Prager Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada mprager@goodmans.ca
Koos Pretorius ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa +27 82 557 7927 kpretorius@ENSafrica.com
Hemant Puthran Vaish Associates Mumbai, India hemant@vaishlaw.com
José Ramón Ayala Santamarina y Steta S.C. Querétaro, Mexico +52 442 2900 290 jayala@s-s.mx
Jonathan Reardon Al Tamimi & Company Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia +966 13 821 9960 j.reardon@tamimi.com
Johannes Reich-Rohrwig CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Vienna, Austria johannes.reich-rohrwig@cms-rrh.com
Jennifer Reilly Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands 3459145879 jreilly@campbellslegal.com
Manuel Santos Vitor PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal +351 213 197 371 manuel.santosvitor@plmj.pt
Raimundo Segura Cuatrecasas Barcelona, Spain raimundo.segura@cuatrecasas.com
Dong Seo Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea dongwoo.seo@bkl.co.kr
Neil Sheehy Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +1 416 597 4229 nsheehy@goodmans.ca
Axel Sigle CMS Germany Stuttgart, Germany Axel.Sigle@cms-hs.com
Mark Smith Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8357 Mark.Smith@millermartin.com
Hassan Sohbi Taylor Wessing Frankfurt, Germany h.sohbi@taylorwessing.com
Chotiwut Sukpradub Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand +662 266 6485 chotiwut@ctlo.com
Nicholas Choi Chuan Tan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2816 nicholas.tan@shearndelamore.com
Simon Thomas Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands +1 345 914 5843 sthomas@campbellslegal.com
Oliver Thurn CMS Germany Munich, Germany oliver.thurn@cms-hs.com
Christian Traichel Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany +49 89 210 380 c.traichel@taylorwessing.com
Gieneke van Nierop CMS Netherlands Utrecht, Netherlands gieneke.vannierop@cms-dsb.com
Bhuvana Veeraragavan AZB & Partners Bangalore, India Bhuvana.Veeraragavan@azbpartners.com
Alexander von Reden CMS Germany Frankfurt, Germany alexander.von_reden@cms-hs.com
John Wolf Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands jwolf@campbellslegal.com
Kathleen Wu Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP Dallas, Texas - U.S.A. +1 214 659 4448 kwu@HuntonAK.com
Grace Yeoh Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia gcgyeoh@shearndelamore.com
Emilie Yldiz Soulier AARPI Lyon, France e.yildiz@soulier-avocats.com
Jonathan Young Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. +1 617 239 0367 jonathan.young@lockelord.com
Seong YUN Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea seongun.yun@bkl.co.kr
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Colombia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Washington, District of Colombia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com
Ashley LeCroy World Law Group Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada +1 202 904 2477 alecroy@theworldlawgroup.com