Practice & Industry Groups

International Trade Law

​The increasingly global nature of commerce and the myriad ways national governments seek to regulate that commerce impact every company involved in the international trade of goods and services. This area of law has evolved significantly over the past 20 years and continues to do so -- as more governments realize that their economic well-being is inextricably intertwined with trade transactions between the private sectors of different countries. Yet, rather than reducing the complexity, the proliferation of bilateral and international trade agreements can add to the challenges of companies seeking to do business across borders.

World Law Group's International Trade Law Group helps clients navigate the risks and maximize the opportunities associated with this increasingly complex web of law and regulation. The group's members bring in-depth knowledge and experience to a variety of challenges most often encountered by companies involved in cross-border trade, including:

  • Import compliance,
  • Export controls,
  • Antidumping, countervailing duties and trade remedies,
  • WTO dispute settlement.

Other areas of expertise encompass economic sanctions, investment treaty arbitration, market access and regulatory barriers, trade policy and negotiations, and anti-corruption and anti-boycott laws.

Due to the extraterritorial reach of international trade laws, members of the WLG International Trade Law Group have formed strong working relationships with their WLG peers around the world to better serve their clients. As national leaders in their field, they meet regularly at international and regional conferences, exchange news on related legal developments and collaborate on comparative law guides and other information resources for WLG’s member firms and their respective clients.

Resources

Legal Update

On June 17, 2022, Norway adopted the EU's sixth sanction package. The package includes a gradual ban on imports from Russia of crude oil and refined petroleum products, with certain exceptions, and a SWIFT ban for three other Russian banks.

Legal Update

Faced with a shortage of capital, Uganda has made a significant effort to attract foreign direct investment. Uganda has cast out generous tax incentives as bait to draw in the big fish of investment capital.

Member Firm News
A presentation of our new partners, Monica Mæland and Iselin Nybø.
Resource
Members
Main Contacts
Michael Brüggemann Taylor Wessing Düsseldorf, Germany m.brueggemann@taylorwessing.com
Randy Rucker Faegre Drinker Chicago, U.S.A. - Illinois +1 312 569 1157 Randy.Rucker@faegredrinker.com
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, U.S.A. - Colorado +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Bernardine Adkins Gowling WLG Birmingham, England +870 903 1000 bernardine.adkins@gowlingwlg.com
Katrina Aguila VILAF Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam +639177181965 katrina.aguila@vilaf.com.vn
Rita Albuquerque PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal 351213197361 rita.albuquerque@plmj.pt
Liliana Arauz Alfaro Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +54 11 4393 3003 larauz@alfarolaw.com
Anina Boshoff ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa +27822541881 aboshoff@ensafrica.com
Ngoc Anh Bui VILAF Hanoi, Vietnam +84 906 023 873 anh.bui@vilaf.com.vn
Carlos Camacho Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2840 carlos.camacho@ariaslaw.com
Esko Cate VILAF Ho Chi Minh City esko.cate@vilaf.com.vn
Kyu Sang Chung Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea ksc@bkl.co.kr
Carrie Connolly Faegre Drinker Washington, D.C., U.S.A. - Illinois carrie.connolly@faegredrinker.com
Lynn Fischer Fox Arnold & Porter Washington, U.S.A. - District of Columbia Lynn.FischerFox@apks.com
Samir Gandhi AZB & Partners Mumbai, India samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com
Rolando Garcia Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2808 rolando.garcia@ariaslaw.com
Dan Geary Bech-Bruun Aarhus, Denmark +45 25 26 36 40 dbg@bechbruun.com
Kamila Gimenez Gross Brown Asuncion, Paraguay kgimenez@grossbrown.com.py
Richard Hammarvid Setterwalls Gothenburg, Sweden +46 31 701 1720 richard.hammarvid@setterwalls.se
Doug Heffner Faegre Drinker Washington, U.S.A. - District of Columbia +1 202 230 5802 Douglas.Heffner@faegredrinker.com
David Inglis MinterEllison Sydney, Australia david.inglis@minterellison.com
Mattias Jannerbo Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, U.S.A. - Tennessee +1 423 785 8322 mattias.jannerbo@millermartin.com
Doron Joffe ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa +27 11 269 7600 djoffe@ENSafrica.com
Geraldine Johns-Putra MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia +61 3 8608 2310 geraldine.johns-putra@minterellison.com
Ursula Johnston Gowling WLG London, England ursula.johnston@gowlingwlg.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, U.S.A. - Georgia 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Johannes Juranek CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Vienna, Austria johannes.juranek@cms-rrh.com
Shammi Kapoor Vaish Associates New Delhi, India shammi@vaishlaw.com
Jeena Kim Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea jeena.kim@bkl.co.kr
Kirsi Koistinen Sorainen Tallinn kirsi.koistinen@sorainen.com
Carl Leermakers CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium 32 477 259 480 carl.leermakers@cms-db.com
Sebastian Linera Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo slinera@pellerano.com
Andreas Lohbeck CMS Germany Stuttgart, Germany +497119764407 andreas.lohbeck@cms-hs.com
Ximena López Gross Brown Asunción, Paraguay xlopez@grossbrown.com.py
Francisco López Santoro Alfaro Abogados Buenos Aires flopezsantoro@alfarolaw.com
Dirk Loycke CMS Germany Stuttgart dirk.loycke@cms-hs.com
Alejandro Luna Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico +52 15 513 846 413 aluna@s-s.mx
Gilad Majerowicz Herzog Fox & Neeman Tel Aviv giladm@herzoglaw.co.il
Laura Martinez Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico 525552795400 lamartinez@s-s.mx
Carlos Matos Fernandez Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo 8095108899 cmatos@pellerano.com
Juan Manuel Mercant Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +598 2902 1515 jmmercant@guyer.com.uy
Daniel Mosco Guyer & Regules , Uruguay dmosco@guyer.com.uy
Kathleen Murphy Faegre Drinker Chicago, U.S.A. - Illinois +1 312 569 1155 Kathleen.Murphy@faegredrinker.com
Valts Nerets Sorainen Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia valts.nerets@sorainen.com
Kai Neuhaus CMS Germany Brussels, Belgium +32 2 6500 431 kai.neuhaus@cms-hs.com
Marhaini Nordin Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2853 marhaini@shearndelamore.com
Mateo Noseda Guyer & Regules , Uruguay mnoseda@guyer.com.uy
Eva Oruvee Sorainen Tallinn, Estonia +372 56621084 eva.oruvee@sorainen.com
David Park Arnold & Porter Washington, U.S.A. - District of Columbia +1 202 942 5646 david.park@apks.com
Philippe-Emmanuel Partsch Arendt & Medernach Luxembourg, Luxembourg +352 40 78 78 350 Philippe-Emmanuel.Partsch@arendt.com
Urania Paulino Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic 8092233308 upaulino@pellerano.com
Koos Pretorius ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa +27 82 557 7927 kpretorius@ENSafrica.com
Carmen Rosa PLMJ Faro, Portugal carmen.baptistarosa@plmj.pt
David Rosner Goodmans LLP Toronto, Canada - Ontario drosner@goodmans.ca
Shrinivas Sankaran Vaish Associates New Delhi, India shrinivas@vaishlaw.com
James Sawyer Faegre Drinker Chicago, U.S.A. - Illinois +1 312 569 1156 James.Sawyer@faegredrinker.com
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Shilpa Sharma Vaish Associates Mumbai, India shilpa@vaishlaw.com
Daniel Sosa Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City dsosa@s-s.mx
Johan Stromback Setterwalls Stockholm, Sweden johan.stromback@setterwalls.se
Suresh Varanasi AZB & Partners Mumbai, India suresh.varanasi@azbpartners.com
Andrea Villamizar D'Empaire , Venezuela +584142194353 avillamizar@dra.com.ve
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, U.S.A. - District of Columbia +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Richmond, U.S.A. - District of Columbia +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com
Ashley LeCroy World Law Group Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada +1 202 904 2477 alecroy@theworldlawgroup.com
Alyssa Wing World Law Group +1 2022 904 2477 awing@theworldlawgroup.com