Practice & Industry Groups

International Trade Law

​The increasingly global nature of commerce and the myriad ways national governments seek to regulate that commerce impact every company involved in the international trade of goods and services. This area of law has evolved significantly over the past 20 years and continues to do so -- as more governments realize that their economic well-being is inextricably intertwined with trade transactions between the private sectors of different countries. Yet, rather than reducing the complexity, the proliferation of bilateral and international trade agreements can add to the challenges of companies seeking to do business across borders.

World Law Group's International Trade Law Group helps clients navigate the risks and maximize the opportunities associated with this increasingly complex web of law and regulation. The group's members bring in-depth knowledge and experience to a variety of challenges most often encountered by companies involved in cross-border trade, including:

  • Import compliance,
  • Export controls,
  • Antidumping, countervailing duties and trade remedies,
  • WTO dispute settlement.

Other areas of expertise encompass economic sanctions, investment treaty arbitration, market access and regulatory barriers, trade policy and negotiations, and anti-corruption and anti-boycott laws.

Due to the extraterritorial reach of international trade laws, members of the WLG International Trade Law Group have formed strong working relationships with their WLG peers around the world to better serve their clients. As national leaders in their field, they meet regularly at international and regional conferences, exchange news on related legal developments and collaborate on comparative law guides and other information resources for WLG’s member firms and their respective clients.

Resources

Legal Update

On 1 January 2020, a new version of Incoterms – the Incoterms 2020 rules (ICC publication No. 723) – came into force. This version contains important changes to the rules for the international supply of goods.

Legal Update

Important news for foreign companies acting as shareholders of Buenos Aires based companies, or having a branch registered in the city of Buenos Aires.

Legal Update

January 30, the Regulatory Decree 116/2020 (the “Decree”) was published in the Official Gazette, which introduces changes to the repatriation regime of foreign currency and the product of financial assets located abroad that aims to the non-application of an increased rate in Personal Assets Tax (“P

Resource
Members
Main Contacts
Kathleen Murphy Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1155 Kathleen.Murphy@dbr.com
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Bernardine Adkins Gowling WLG Birmingham, England +870 903 1000 bernardine.adkins@gowlingwlg.com
Rita Albuquerque PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal 351213197361 rita.albuquerque@plmj.pt
Liliana Arauz Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +54 11 4393 3003 larauz@alfarolaw.com
Nathaniel Bolin Faegre Drinker Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 230 5888 nate.bolin@dbr.com
Carlos Camacho Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2840 carlos.camacho@ariaslaw.com
Kyu Sang Chung Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea ksc@bkl.co.kr
Lynn Fischer Fox Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. Lynn.FischerFox@apks.com
Samir Gandhi AZB & Partners Mumbai, India samir.gandhi@azbpartners.com
Rolando Garcia Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2808 rolando.garcia@ariaslaw.com
Nicolas Guzman Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 202 230 5436 Nicolas.Guzman@dbr.com
Richard Hammarvid Setterwalls Gothenburg, Sweden +46 31 701 1720 richard.hammarvid@setterwalls.se
Ian Hayes ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa ihayes@ensafrica.com
Doug Heffner Faegre Drinker Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 230 5802 Douglas.Heffner@dbr.com
David Inglis MinterEllison Sydney, Australia david.inglis@minterellison.com
Mattias Jannerbo Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8322 mattias.jannerbo@millermartin.com
Doron Joffe ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa +27 11 269 7600 djoffe@ENSafrica.com
Geraldine Johns-Putra MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia +61 3 8608 2310 geraldine.johns-putra@minterellison.com
Ursula Johnston Gowling WLG London, England ursula.johnston@gowlingwlg.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Johannes Juranek CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Vienna, Austria johannes.juranek@cms-rrh.com
Shammi Kapoor Vaish Associates New Delhi, India shammi@vaishlaw.com
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Felipe Krausz TozziniFreire Advogados São Paulo, Brazil fkrausz@tozzinifreire.com.br
Pranat Laohapairoj Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand +662 266 6485 pranat.l@chandlermhm.com
Alejandro Luna Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico +52 15 513 846 413 aluna@s-s.mx
Laura Martinez Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico 525552795400 lamartinez@s-s.mx
Juan Manuel Mercant Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +598 2902 1515 jmercant@guyer.com.uy
Kai Neuhaus CMS Germany Brussels, Belgium +32 2 6500 431 kai.neuhaus@cms-hs.com
David Park Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 942 5646 david.park@apks.com
Philippe-Emmanuel Partsch Arendt & Medernach Luxembourg, Luxembourg +352 40 78 78 350 Philippe-Emmanuel.Partsch@arendt.com
Koos Pretorius ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa +27 82 557 7927 kpretorius@ENSafrica.com
Lingchen Pu Zhong Lun Law Firm Beijing, China pulingchen@zhonglun.com
Carmen Rosa PLMJ Faro, Portugal carmen.baptistarosa@plmj.pt
Randy Rucker Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1157 Randy.Rucker@dbr.com
James Sawyer Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1156 James.Sawyer@dbr.com
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Shilpa Sharma Vaish Associates Mumbai, India shilpa@vaishlaw.com
Johan Stromback Setterwalls Stockholm, Sweden johan.stromback@setterwalls.se
Suresh Varanasi AZB & Partners Mumbai, India suresh.varanasi@azbpartners.com
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com