City-Yuwa Partners

City-Yuwa Partners was formed in 2003 upon the merger of a cross-border transaction-based firm and a firm specialized in litigation, insolvency and real estate laws. Following the 2005 merger with one of Japan's top patent litigation boutiques and the addition of many partners with diverse backgrounds and experiences, City-Yuwa has grown into one of Japan's preeminent law firms capable of providing a full range of legal services.

A number of lawyers at City-Yuwa have previously served as former public prosecutors, high-ranking governmental officials with specialized expertise, and in-house counsels for leading financial institutions. Some lawyers are licensed as professionals in other fields, such as patent attorneys, and many lawyers are licensed in both Japan and foreign jurisdictions. This broad professional expertise and experience ensures that City-Yuwa can offer comprehensive and proactive solutions to clients in an effective and timely manner. City-Yuwa represents clients across a wide range of industries, including manufacturing, automobile, electronic and medical device, health care, fashion and retail, shipping, air and land transportation, telecommunication, energy, construction, real estate, finance, insurance and governmental institutions.

Recent Firm News & Legal Updates

Member Firm News Japan
Member Firm News Japan
April 19, 2024

A government initiative to promote non-carbon generating renewable energy has provided ample opportunity for foreign investment in renewable energy projects in Japan. Member firm City-Yuwa Partners also share that the legal system is business-friendly in that the country does not have discovery or class-action lawsuits and, overall, is not...
October 31, 2022

Mikio, Hitoshi, You will be so missed, but never forgotten. May your journey be peaceful, knowing that the thoughts and prayers of us all will be with you forever.
Legal Updates Japan
July 14, 2022

We asked our member firms around the globe to provide some insight on anti-corruption laws applicable to corporations. Akira Nagasaki, Naoyuki Kishimi, and Yasuyuki Kuribayashi author this chapter from Japan.
December 8, 2021

Members of WLG's Compliance & Investigation Group hosted a panel discussion on Internal Investigations in the Asia-Pacific Region. We heard from member firms in Australia, China, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, and Vietnam.

Firm Offices in Member Jurisdiction

Asia-Pacific


Japan Tokyo

Firm Offices in Other Jurisdictions

*Indicates affiliated firm

All Firm Contacts
Committees & Programs
Business Development Committee
Business Development Committee
Masaaki Sawano
Masaaki Sawano Copied!
+8136212550 masaaki.sawano@city-yuwa.com
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Key Contact Partners Forum
Key Contact Partners Forum
Akira Nagasaki
Akira Nagasaki Copied!
+8136212565 akira.nagasaki@city-yuwa.com
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Yoko Maeda
Yoko Maeda Copied!
+8136212550 yoko.maeda@city-yuwa.com
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Masaaki Sawano
Masaaki Sawano Copied!
+8136212550 masaaki.sawano@city-yuwa.com
WLG | exchange
WLG | exchange
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
WLG | immersion
WLG | immersion
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Women of WLG (WOW)
Women of WLG (WOW)
Hitomi Sakai
Hitomi Sakai Copied!
+9017349852 hitomi.sakai@city-yuwa.com
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Women of WLG (WOW) V2
Women of WLG (WOW) V2
Hitomi Sakai
Hitomi Sakai Copied!
+9017349852 hitomi.sakai@city-yuwa.com
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Young Lawyers Forum
Young Lawyers Forum
Kenta Ikebe
Kenta Ikebe Copied!
+8136212550 kenta.ikebe@city-yuwa.com
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Shigeki Yamada Copied!
+8136212553 shigeki.yamada@city-yuwa.com
Practice & Industry Groups
Antitrust, Competition & Foreign Direct Investment
Antitrust, Competition & Foreign Direct Investment
Katsuki Matsuura Copied!
+8136212562 katsuki.matsuura@city-yuwa.com
Masaaki Sawano
Masaaki Sawano Copied!
+8136212550 masaaki.sawano@city-yuwa.com
Banking & Finance
Banking & Finance
Daigo Nomura
Daigo Nomura Copied!
+8136212559 daigo.nomura@city-yuwa.com
Kenta Ikebe
Kenta Ikebe Copied!
+8136212550 kenta.ikebe@city-yuwa.com
Shigeki Yamada Copied!
+8136212553 shigeki.yamada@city-yuwa.com
Yasuyuki Kuribayashi Copied!
+8136212551 yasuyuki.kuribayashi@city-yuwa.com
Compliance & Investigations
Compliance & Investigations
Akira Nagasaki
Akira Nagasaki Copied!
+8136212565 akira.nagasaki@city-yuwa.com
Hidetomo Futami
Hidetomo Futami Copied!
+8136212570 hidetomo.futami@city-yuwa.com
Naoyuki Kishmi
Naoyuki Kishmi Copied!
+0904736956 naoyuki.kishimi@city-yuwa.com
Yasuyuki Kuribayashi Copied!
+8136212551 yasuyuki.kuribayashi@city-yuwa.com
Corporate Transactions
Corporate Transactions
Akira Nagasaki
Akira Nagasaki Copied!
+8136212565 akira.nagasaki@city-yuwa.com
Arata Nomoto
Arata Nomoto Copied!
+8136212563 arata.nomoto@city-yuwa.com
Daigo Nomura
Daigo Nomura Copied!
+8136212559 daigo.nomura@city-yuwa.com
Hidetomo Futami
Hidetomo Futami Copied!
+8136212570 hidetomo.futami@city-yuwa.com
Hitomi Sakai
Hitomi Sakai Copied!
+9017349852 hitomi.sakai@city-yuwa.com
Katsuki Matsuura Copied!
+8136212562 katsuki.matsuura@city-yuwa.com
Kenta Ikebe
Kenta Ikebe Copied!
+8136212550 kenta.ikebe@city-yuwa.com
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Yasuyuki Kuribayashi Copied!
+8136212551 yasuyuki.kuribayashi@city-yuwa.com
Yoko Maeda
Yoko Maeda Copied!
+8136212550 yoko.maeda@city-yuwa.com
Yuki Takahashi Copied!
yuki.takahashi@city-yuwa.com
Dispute Resolution
Dispute Resolution
Masaaki Sawano
Masaaki Sawano Copied!
+8136212550 masaaki.sawano@city-yuwa.com
Noriko Higashizawa
Noriko Higashizawa Copied!
+8136212550 noriko.higashizawa@city-yuwa.com
Shinya Okauchi Copied!
shinya.okauchi@city-yuwa.com
Yoko Maeda
Yoko Maeda Copied!
+8136212550 yoko.maeda@city-yuwa.com
Energy & Infrastructure
Energy & Infrastructure
Daigo Nomura
Daigo Nomura Copied!
+8136212559 daigo.nomura@city-yuwa.com
Yoko Maeda
Yoko Maeda Copied!
+8136212550 yoko.maeda@city-yuwa.com
Environmental, Social & Governance (ESG)
Environmental, Social & Governance (ESG)
Akira Nagasaki
Akira Nagasaki Copied!
+8136212565 akira.nagasaki@city-yuwa.com
Hidetomo Futami
Hidetomo Futami Copied!
+8136212570 hidetomo.futami@city-yuwa.com
Yasuyuki Kuribayashi Copied!
+8136212551 yasuyuki.kuribayashi@city-yuwa.com
Intellectual Property
Intellectual Property
Akira Nagasaki
Akira Nagasaki Copied!
+8136212565 akira.nagasaki@city-yuwa.com
Arata Nomoto
Arata Nomoto Copied!
+8136212563 arata.nomoto@city-yuwa.com
Kanako Inokuchi
Kanako Inokuchi Copied!
kanako.inokuchi@city-yuwa.com
Kensuke Isobe Copied!
kensuke.isobe@city-yuwa.com
Masaaki Sawano
Masaaki Sawano Copied!
+8136212550 masaaki.sawano@city-yuwa.com
Masato Kobayashi
Masato Kobayashi Copied!
+8136212550 masato.kobayashi@city-yuwa.com
Labor & Employment
Labor & Employment
Akira Nagasaki
Akira Nagasaki Copied!
+8136212565 akira.nagasaki@city-yuwa.com
Hidetomo Futami
Hidetomo Futami Copied!
+8136212570 hidetomo.futami@city-yuwa.com
Hitomi Sakai
Hitomi Sakai Copied!
+9017349852 hitomi.sakai@city-yuwa.com
Katsuki Matsuura Copied!
+8136212562 katsuki.matsuura@city-yuwa.com
Masaaki Sawano
Masaaki Sawano Copied!
+8136212550 masaaki.sawano@city-yuwa.com
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Yuki Takahashi Copied!
yuki.takahashi@city-yuwa.com
Privacy & Data Protection
Privacy & Data Protection
Akira Nagasaki
Akira Nagasaki Copied!
+8136212565 akira.nagasaki@city-yuwa.com
Arata Nomoto
Arata Nomoto Copied!
+8136212563 arata.nomoto@city-yuwa.com
Daisuke Terasaki Copied!
daisuke.terasaki@city-yuwa.com
Hidetomo Futami
Hidetomo Futami Copied!
+8136212570 hidetomo.futami@city-yuwa.com
Kanako Inokuchi
Kanako Inokuchi Copied!
kanako.inokuchi@city-yuwa.com
Masaaki Sawano
Masaaki Sawano Copied!
+8136212550 masaaki.sawano@city-yuwa.com
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Yasuyuki Kuribayashi Copied!
+8136212551 yasuyuki.kuribayashi@city-yuwa.com
Real Estate & Construction
Real Estate & Construction
Daigo Nomura
Daigo Nomura Copied!
+8136212559 daigo.nomura@city-yuwa.com
Hidetomo Futami
Hidetomo Futami Copied!
+8136212570 hidetomo.futami@city-yuwa.com
Kenta Ikebe
Kenta Ikebe Copied!
+8136212550 kenta.ikebe@city-yuwa.com
Shigeki Yamada Copied!
+8136212553 shigeki.yamada@city-yuwa.com
Tax & Private Wealth
Tax & Private Wealth
Hitomi Sakai
Hitomi Sakai Copied!
+9017349852 hitomi.sakai@city-yuwa.com
Technology
Technology
Arata Nomoto
Arata Nomoto Copied!
+8136212563 arata.nomoto@city-yuwa.com
Sayako Tsukamoto
Sayako Tsukamoto Copied!
+0031655591 sayako.tsukamoto@city-yuwa.com
Trade
Trade
Daigo Nomura
Daigo Nomura Copied!
+8136212559 daigo.nomura@city-yuwa.com
Hidetomo Futami
Hidetomo Futami Copied!
+8136212570 hidetomo.futami@city-yuwa.com
Hitomi Sakai
Hitomi Sakai Copied!
+9017349852 hitomi.sakai@city-yuwa.com
Other Firm Members
Aya Yasui Copied!
+8136212550 aya.yasui@city-yuwa.com
Ayaka Ishii Copied!
ayaka.ishii@city-yuwa.com
Chikako Watanabe Copied!
chikako.watanabe@city-yuwa.com
City-Yuwa Partners
City-Yuwa Partners Copied!
Gen Takizawa Copied!
gen.takizawa@city-yuwa.com
Haruyuki Hirata Copied!
haruyuki.hirata@city-yuwa.com
Hiroaki Matsunaga
Hiroaki Matsunaga Copied!
+8136212565 hiroaki.matsunaga@city-yuwa.com
Junko Hirakawa Copied!
junko.hirakawa@city-yuwa.com
Katayama Noriyuki Copied!
noriyuki.katayama@city-yuwa.com
Keisuke Ide Copied!
keisuke.ide@city-yuwa.com
Kiyoshi Asada Copied!
kiyoshi.asada@city-yuwa.com
Koji Matsuda Copied!
koji.matsuda@city-yuwa.com
Kosuke Hasegawa
Kosuke Hasegawa Copied!
+9078169949 kosuke.hasegawa@city-yuwa.com
Masako Nii Copied!
masako.nii@city-yuwa.com
Masamichi Sakamoto
Masamichi Sakamoto Copied!
+8136212550 masamichi.sakamoto@city-yuwa.com
Sayaka Eguro Copied!
sayaka.eguro@city-yuwa.com
Sumire Negoro Copied!
sumire.negoro@city-yuwa.com
Tatsushi Nishizaki Copied!
+1362125537 tatsushinishizaki@gmail.com
Teruhisa Ishii
Teruhisa Ishii Copied!
+8136212566 teruhisa.ishii@city-yuwa.com
Yoshiko Koizumi Copied!
yoshiko.koizumi@city-yuwa.com
Yuki Mori Copied!
yuki.mori@city-yuwa.com
Yusuke Tani
Yusuke Tani Copied!
+8180904579 yusuke.tani@city-yuwa.com
Yutaka Takiguchi Copied!
yutaka.takiguchi@city-yuwa.com