Goodmans LLP

Goodmans is internationally recognized as one of Canada’s pre-eminent business law firms. Based in Toronto, the firm has market-leading expertise in M&A, corporate and transaction finance, private equity, real estate, tax, restructuring, litigation and other business-related specialties.

The firm represents a broad range of Canadian and foreign clients, from entrepreneurial businesses to multinational corporations, financial institutions, pension funds and governments and has a reputation for handling challenging problems, often international in scope, that demand creative solutions.

At Goodmans, our lawyers excel in their fields to help our clients excel in theirs – ensuring exceptional levels of service and business success. We deliver intelligent results, responsiveness, energy, talent and determination to get the deal done.

Our firm is consistently recognized by leading industry guides. Below are a few recent accolades:

Client service & value:

“They are extremely responsive and trustworthy and provide sound judgement. They have a bounty of experience as well as having excellent staff support in their delivery of work product." − Chambers Canada, 2019

“Highly engaged, responsive and commercial’, Goodmans’ Toronto-based practice attracts superlative praise for its 'exceptional roster of partners and associates’ and its 'great breadth and depth of knowledge across a range of corporate issues”. − The Legal 500 Canada 2019

“Based on the law firms that I have worked with to-date, Goodmans is by far the best firm from a value perspective. Aside from the strong competence and personable nature of the individuals at Goodmans, the firm 'gets it’." − IFLR1000 2019.

Recent Firm News & Legal Updates

Legal Update

While everyone can agree that artificial intelligence (AI) is the next big thing, the technology is still in its infancy and many industry-specific applications remain somewhat far off on the horizon.

Legal Update

The Ontario Court of Appeal recently released its second and final decision in Third Eye Capital Corporation v. Ressources Dianor Inc./Dianor Resources Inc., providing increased clarity on when interests in or against land can be extinguished through vesting orders in insolvency proceedings.

Legal Update

Last week the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada launched a “Consultation on transborder dataflows”,in which it proposes to totally reverse its policy position on cross-border data transfers by organizations subject to the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act.

Firm Offices in Member Jurisdiction

Ontario - Canada

Toronto
All Firm Contacts Committees
Young Lawyers Forum
Young Lawyers Forum
Business Development Committee
Business Development Committee
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Membership Committee
Membership Committee
Board of Directors
Board of Directors
Practice Groups
Antitrust & Competition
Antitrust & Competition
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Information Technology
Information Technology
Intellectual Property
Intellectual Property
Media & Telecommunication
Media & Telecommunication
Artificial Intelligence
Artificial Intelligence
Energy Mining & Clean Tech
Energy Mining & Clean Tech
Litigation, Arbitration & Dispute Resolution
Litigation, Arbitration & Dispute Resolution
Environmental
Environmental
Global Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
Global Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
Venture Capital
Venture Capital
Corporate Governance
Corporate Governance
International Corporate Transactions
International Corporate Transactions
Privacy & Data Protection
Privacy & Data Protection
International Tax & Private Wealth
International Tax & Private Wealth
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Other Firm Members
Jean Anderson janderson@goodmans.ca
Robert Chadwick rchadwick@goodmans.ca
Jonathan Chan jchan@goodmans.ca
David Coll-Black dcollblack@goodmans.ca
Kenneth Crofoot kcrofoot@goodmans.ca
Stephen Halperin shalperin@goodmans.ca
Jonathan Lampe jlampe@goodmans.ca
Joseph Latham jlatham@goodmans.ca
Allan Leibel aleibel@goodmans.ca
Stephen Pincus spincus@goodmans.ca
Kirk Rauliuk krauliuk@goodmans.ca
Samantha Reburn swoolley@goodmans.com
Julie Rosenthal jrosenthal@goodmans.ca
Michelle Roth mroth@goodmans.ca
Carla Salzman csalzman@goodmans.ca
Carolyn Stamegna cstamegna@goodmans.ca
David Wiseman dwiseman@goodmans.ca
David Zitzerman dzitzerman@goodmans.ca