Goodmans LLP

Goodmans is internationally recognized as one of Canada's leading business law firms. Based in Toronto, the firm has market-leading expertise in M&A, capital markets, private equity, real estate, tax, restructuring, dispute resolution and other business-related specialties.

Our clients are business leaders, innovators, entrepreneurs, and investors who need counsel from a law firm that is as enterprising, forward-thinking and direct as they are. We work hard to develop the most appropriate solution for any situation, including problems that are international in scope, and provide clear, concise, and straightforward advice to solve some of our clients most complex and demanding legal issues.

At Goodmans, our lawyers excel in their fields to help our clients excel in theirs - ensuring exceptional levels of service and business success. We deliver intelligent results, responsiveness, energy, talent and determination to get the deal done.

We are honoured to be consistently recognized by leading industry publications and directories, and to be commended by our clients around the world. Here’s a sample of what they’ve recently said about us:

"Goodmans is excellent at sifting through complex matters and providing concrete, straightforward legal advice."
"Goodmans provides strong advice that is creative yet practical. They have tremendous experience and are commercially savvy."
− Chambers Canada, 2023

"Tremendous quality and depth of talent top to bottom. They not only know the law but provide common sense and practical advice in challenging situations."
"They are extremely commercial, smart and always demonstrate excellent judgment. They are also very easy to work with, and extremely responsive."
− IFLR1000, 2022

"The team is incredibly responsive, and always focuses on how issues affect us. They are the definition of value for money without any compromise on quality. We always deal directly with the partners we want."
“They have high-quality lawyers at all levels of practice, including some of the best in the industry."
–The Legal 500 Canada, 2023

Recent Firm News & Legal Updates

Legal Update
The Bank of Canada continues preparations for its supervision of payment service providers (PSPs) under the Retail Payment Activities Act (RPAA).
Legal Update
On February 22, 2024, the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) recently published updated guidance on virtual shareholder meetings following initial guidance provided in February 2022. See our March 1, 2022 update, CSA Provides Updated Guidance on Virtual Shareholder Meetings.
Legal Update
As the November 1 – 15, 2024 window for registration of payment services providers (“PSPs”) approaches, the Bank of Canada (the “Bank”) has published guidance for PSPs determining: (i) whether the supervisory regime under the Retail Payment Activities Act (the “RPAA”) will apply to them...

Firm Offices in Member Jurisdiction

Canada - Ontario

Toronto
All Firm Contacts Committees
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Practice Groups
International Corporate Transactions
International Corporate Transactions
Dispute Resolution
Dispute Resolution
Other Firm Members
Robert Chadwick rchadwick@goodmans.ca
Zhiyao Chen zchen@goodmans.ca
David Coll-Black dcollblack@goodmans.ca
Carmella Dela Cruz cdelacruz@goodmans.ca
Julian Di Bartolomeo jdibartolomeo@goodmans.ca
Andrea Duncan aduncan@goodmans.ca
Griffin James gjames@goodmans.ca
Jonathan Lampe jlampe@goodmans.ca
Joseph Latham jlatham@goodmans.ca
Michel Lederman mlederman@goodmans.ca
Allan Leibel aleibel@goodmans.ca
Stephen Pincus spincus@goodmans.ca
Joeley Pulver jpulver@goodmans.ca
Ali Richardson arichardson@goodmans.ca
Julie Rosenthal jrosenthal@goodmans.ca
Michelle Roth mroth@goodmans.ca
Carolyn Stamegna cstamegna@goodmans.ca
Anita Susac-Bilyk asusacbilyk@goodmans.ca
Jerry Topolski jtopolski@goodmans.ca