Santamarina y Steta S.C.

Who we are

Our identity hallmark is being the most effective and committed partner for our client's projects.

As legal experts in Mexico, we understand our client's circumstances from a local and global perspective.

We develop strategic solutions that translate into successful results for our clients.

We have alliances with independent firms in more than 60 countries with a strong portfolio of national and international clients.

Get to know us

Experience. For 75 years, we have achieved recognition in the legal sector and the business and corporate field of Mexico.

Talent. Our team of highly-qualified partners and associates closely collaborate to achieve our client's goals.

Innovation. New intelligence and technology tools with a customer-centric mindset enable us to design tailored strategies for each client's project and needs.

Commitment. At the center of our projects, we place environmental, social, and corporate responsibility.

Our team

We are a talented team of experts committed to different practice areas throughout Mexico. Our efforts focus on human quality, social conscience, responsibility, justice, tolerance, and respect.

We are supported by:

·        75 years of experience

·        40 practice areas

·        25 partners

·        7 counsels

·        70 lawyers

·        39 law clerks

 Multidisciplinary Focus

Through a strategic network of contacts, we provide legal advice to national and international clients in different practice areas in their trajectories both inside and outside Mexico.

Our sensitivity allows us to identify the working style and philosophies of investors and professionals worldwide, shaping efforts to customize successful solutions.

Insertion into the global economy has led us to develop strong alliances with independent firms in more than 60 countries. These alliances are distinguished by the high-quality standards of their members, who are experts in their business community and have a thorough knowledge of local authorities, practices, and laws.

Our clients

We represent and advise a diverse group of individuals, corporations, companies, banks, financial institutions, and governmental and non-profit organizations with domestic and international interests. Our business partners include Fortune 500 companies.

Our experience is focused on advising multinational companies that work in a coordinated and efficient manner with their Mexican subsidiaries and their headquarters or regional offices. In such a way, they can have a strategic vision focused on Mexico without losing sight of the client's global or international interests

Recent Firm News & Legal Updates

Legal Update

Water pollution in Mexico is a concern as it leads to several environmental and social conflicts. As a result, CONAGUA has imposed sanctions and made it mandatory to remediate wastewater into rivers, lakes, and subsoil.

Legal Update

We share a set of guidelines and recommendations intended to prevent non-compliance with the terms and conditions outlined in a concession title for the exploitation of national waters.

Legal Update

Resulting from China's COVID-19 restrictions, the semiconductor chip shortages, and the global supply chain crisis, Santamarina y Steta S.C. has been receiving multiple requests on how to set up new manufacturing facilities in Mexico.

Firm Offices in Member Jurisdiction

Mexico

Mexico City
Monterrey
Querétaro
All Firm Contacts Committees
First Fifteen (Young Lawyers)
First Fifteen (Young Lawyers)
Responsible Business Forum
Responsible Business Forum
Business Development Committee
Business Development Committee
César Cruz Ayala +528181336002 ccruz@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Key Contact Partners Forum
Key Contact Partners Forum
César Cruz Ayala +528181336002 ccruz@s-s.mx
Juan de la Vega jdelavega@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
José Ramón Ayala +524422900290 jayala@s-s.mx
Practice Group Leaders Forum
Practice Group Leaders Forum
Practice Groups
Cannabis
Cannabis
Marcela de la Peña Ramos mdelapena@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
ENRIQUETA MOLINA +525552795432 emolina@s-s.mx
Daniel Sosa dsosa@s-s.mx
Privacy & Data Protection
Privacy & Data Protection
Venture Capital
Venture Capital
César Cruz Ayala +528181336002 ccruz@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Pablo Ortiz Monasterio O'Dogherty +525552795416 portiz@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken +525552795418 esteban.soto@s-s.mx
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
César Cruz Ayala +528181336002 ccruz@s-s.mx
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Pablo Ortiz Monasterio O'Dogherty +525552795416 portiz@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken +525552795418 esteban.soto@s-s.mx
Dispute Resolution
Dispute Resolution
Fernando Castillo fcastillo@s-s.mx
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Compliance & Investigations
Compliance & Investigations
Marcela de la Peña Ramos mdelapena@s-s.mx
Heriberto Garza C. 52 81 8133 6010 hgarza@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Guillermo Moreno M. +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Daniel Sosa dsosa@s-s.mx
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Sergio Chagoya schagoya@s-s.com.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Pablo Ortiz Monasterio O'Dogherty +525552795416 portiz@s-s.mx
José Ramón Ayala +524422900290 jayala@s-s.mx
Daniel Sosa dsosa@s-s.mx
Banking & Finance
Banking & Finance
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Heriberto Garza C. 52 81 8133 6010 hgarza@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Guillermo Moreno M. +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Pablo Ortiz Monasterio O'Dogherty +525552795416 portiz@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken +525552795418 esteban.soto@s-s.mx
International Corporate Transactions
International Corporate Transactions
César Cruz Ayala +528181336002 ccruz@s-s.mx
Marcela de la Peña Ramos mdelapena@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Guillermo Moreno M. +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Pablo Ortiz Monasterio O'Dogherty +525552795416 portiz@s-s.mx
José Ramón Ayala +524422900290 jayala@s-s.mx
Daniel Sosa dsosa@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken +525552795418 esteban.soto@s-s.mx
Artificial Intelligence
Artificial Intelligence
Marcela de la Peña Ramos mdelapena@s-s.mx
Carlos de la Puente Téllez 5533326968 edelapuente@s-s.mx
Julieta Hernández Ibarra 52 55 5279 5400 jhernandez@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
José Ramón Ayala +524422900290 jayala@s-s.mx
International Trade
International Trade
Marcela de la Peña Ramos mdelapena@s-s.mx
Daniel Sosa dsosa@s-s.mx
Life Sciences
Life Sciences
Marcela de la Peña Ramos mdelapena@s-s.mx
Daniel Sosa dsosa@s-s.mx
Real Estate & Construction
Real Estate & Construction
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Heriberto Garza C. 52 81 8133 6010 hgarza@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Daniel Sosa dsosa@s-s.mx
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG)
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG)
Heriberto Garza C. 52 81 8133 6010 hgarza@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Daniel Sosa dsosa@s-s.mx
Antitrust & Competition
Antitrust & Competition
Energy, Mining & CleanTech
Energy, Mining & CleanTech
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Juan Carlos Machorro (555) 279-5463 jmachorro@s-s.mx
Daniel Sosa dsosa@s-s.mx
International Tax & Private Wealth
International Tax & Private Wealth
Other Firm Members
M Alcala malcala@s-s.mx
Ilse Bolaños ibolanos@s-s.mx
Lisa Carral Flores +528181336024 lcarral@s-s.mx
Raziel Celis dcelis@s-s.mx
Jorge Enrique Trejo jtrejo@s-s.mx
Roxana Girón Vargas rgiron@s-s.mx
Fabian Granados x fgranados@s-s.mx
Gonzalo Herrera gdelarosa@s-s.mx
Abel Leal Harsanyi abel.leal@s-s.mx
Aaron Levet alevet@s-s.mx
Redy Martínez rmartinez@s-s.mx
Alejandro Matute amatute@s-s.mx
Jose Antonio Noguera jnoguera@s-s.mx
Santiago Ontañón sontanon@s-s.mx
Gloria Park gpark@s-s.mx
Jose Pozas jpozas@s-s.com.mx
Juan Pablo Rodriguez jrodriguez@s-s.mx
Juan Rosas jrosas@s-s.mx
Sebastian Salazar ssalazar@s-s.mx
Monica Santoyo msantoyo@s-s.mx
Sebasti�n Su�rez V. +52 55 5279 5407 ssuarez@s-s.mx
Stephanie Uribe suribe@s-s.mx
Michel Joseph Viesca michelzelaya@hotmail.com