Santamarina y Steta S.C.

We're experts in Mexico. We develop strategic solutions that produce successful results for our clients, with whom we collaborate as business partners.

We are a law firm that knows our country in depth. With more than 70 years of experience, we have evolved at the pace required by our clients and international markets to enhance our presence in Mexico. Our sensitivity and the important network of contacts we have allows us to identify the philosophy and work styles of investors and professionals from all over the world, strategically combining efforts to customize solutions and achieve success. We make our client’s challenges our own by understanding their environment and that of the local situation, culture and Mexican laws.

We stand out in the business community for our knowledge and understanding of local authorities, practices and laws, and because we offer the benefit of a one-stop-shop ensuring reliable, multidisciplinary, integrated and comprehensive approaches.

Our daily expectations aim to constantly monitor and understand market changes, business opportunities, threats and multidimensional challenges of growth in complex economies that require expert advice to better position and enhance our clients’ investments, interests, projects and dreams. Our expectations are simple: to provide quality and excellence and continue being the partner of choice.

Recent Firm News & Legal Updates

Member Voices

"Since 2020 I have been appointed as Coordinator of the Corporate Compliance practice at Santamarina y Steta, S.C. (Mexico), focused on antitrust and anti-corruption matters. Additionally, I am part of the Antitrust Practice group of the firm advising clients in merger control cases and antitrust investigations."

Legal Update
Amendment of the Federal Labor Law setting forth that the adjustments to the annual minimum wage shall never be below the inflation rate to ensure that workers have a competitive and sufficient salary to satisfy their needs and those of their families.
Legal Update
The Federal Executive filed a bill to amend the Hydrocarbons Law with the intention to revert the energy reform enacted by the end of 2013, which main purpose was the opening of a free market and to promote free competition.

Firm Offices in Member Jurisdiction

Mexico

Mexico City
Monterrey
Querétaro
All Firm Contacts Committees
Young Lawyers Forum
Young Lawyers Forum
Carlos de la Puente Téllez 5533326968 edelapuente@s-s.mx
Carlo Gómez carlo.gomez@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Mariana Larrea mlarrea@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Guillermo Moreno M. +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Regina Orozco Soria 4772004302 rorozco@s-s.mx
Corporate Social Responsibility Forum
Corporate Social Responsibility Forum
Business Development Committee
Business Development Committee
Gaby Finkel gfinkel@s-s.mx
Silvia Garcia sgarcia@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Key Contact Partners Forum
Key Contact Partners Forum
Juan de la Vega jdelavega@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Gaby Finkel gfinkel@s-s.mx
Silvia Garcia sgarcia@s-s.mx
Practice Groups
Cannabis
Cannabis
Privacy & Data Protection
Privacy & Data Protection
Venture Capital
Venture Capital
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken esteban.soto@s-s.mx
Human Resources
Human Resources
Angela Alvarez angela.alvarez@s-s.mx
Carlos de la Puente Téllez 5533326968 edelapuente@s-s.mx
Juan de la Vega jdelavega@s-s.mx
Francisco Udave Trevino +525552795435 fudave@s-s.mx
Dispute Resolution
Dispute Resolution
Fernando Castillo fcastillo@s-s.mx
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Camilo Vazquez cvazquez@s-s.mx
Compliance & Investigations
Compliance & Investigations
Heriberto Garza C. 52 81 8133 6010 hgarza@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Guillermo Moreno M. +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Banking & Finance
Banking & Finance
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Heriberto Garza C. 52 81 8133 6010 hgarza@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Guillermo Moreno M. +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken esteban.soto@s-s.mx
Artificial Intelligence
Artificial Intelligence
Carlos de la Puente Téllez 5533326968 edelapuente@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
International Corporate Transactions
International Corporate Transactions
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken esteban.soto@s-s.mx
Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)
Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)
COVID-19
COVID-19
Carlos de la Puente Téllez 5533326968 edelapuente@s-s.mx
Regina Orozco Soria 4772004302 rorozco@s-s.mx
Antitrust & Competition
Antitrust & Competition
Ernesto Duhne eduhne@s-s.mx
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG)
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG)
Energy, Mining & CleanTech
Energy, Mining & CleanTech
Irvin A. González 8112993215 iolivares@s-s.mx
Juan Carlos Machorro jmachorro@s-s.mx
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
Life Sciences
Life Sciences
Mariana Larrea mlarrea@s-s.mx
Regina Orozco Soria 4772004302 rorozco@s-s.mx
International Trade Law
International Trade Law
International Tax & Private Wealth
International Tax & Private Wealth
Diversity
Diversity
Other Firm Members
A. Flores 0 aflores@s-s.mx
Fabian Granados x fgranados@s-s.mx
Vicente Grau vgrau@s-s.mx
Abel Leal Harsanyi abel.leal@s-s.mx
Aaron Levet alevet@s-s.mx
Carlos Montes cmontes@s-s.mx
Jose Antonio Noguera jnoguera@s-s.mx
Gloria Park gpark@s-s.mx
Jose Pozas jpozas@s-s.com.mx
Juan Rosas jrosas@s-s.mx
Monica Santoyo msantoyo@s-s.mx
Alfredo Sedano asedano@s-s.mx
Sebasti�n Su�rez V. +52 55 5279 5407 ssuarez@s-s.mx
Stephanie Uribe suribe@s-s.mx