Santamarina y Steta S.C.

We're experts in Mexico. We develop strategic solutions that produce successful results for our clients, with whom we collaborate as business partners.

We are a law firm that knows our country in depth. With more than 70 years of experience, we have evolved at the pace required by our clients and international markets to enhance our presence in Mexico. Our sensitivity and the important network of contacts we have allows us to identify the philosophy and work styles of investors and professionals from all over the world, strategically combining efforts to customize solutions and achieve success. We make our client’s challenges our own by understanding their environment and that of the local situation, culture and Mexican laws.

We stand out in the business community for our knowledge and understanding of local authorities, practices and laws, and because we offer the benefit of a one-stop-shop ensuring reliable, multidisciplinary, integrated and comprehensive approaches.

Our daily expectations aim to constantly monitor and understand market changes, business opportunities, threats and multidimensional challenges of growth in complex economies that require expert advice to better position and enhance our clients’ investments, interests, projects and dreams. Our expectations are simple: to provide quality and excellence and continue being the partner of choice.

Recent Firm News & Legal Updates

Legal Update
On January 29th, 2021, the President of Mexico filed a bill entitled with preferential processing in order to amend the Electric Industry Law. The following is a summary of the proposed amendments to the Law.
Legal Update
The Decree that regulates the General Health Law on Sanitary Control for the Production, Investigation and Medicinal Use of Cannabis and its Pharmacological Derivatives was published on January 12, 2021.
Legal Update

Our Venture Capital Group collaborated on an expansive guide covering more than 30 jurisdictions on investment approval processes, typical investment sectors and investment structures on VC deals (and more!). The objective of this publication is to serve as a Q&A-style multi-jurisdictional guide to venture capital law in countries where WLG member firms have offices. This chapter covers Mexico - contributed by Jorge León Orantes B., César G. Cruz Ayala and Diego R. Acosta Chin of Santamarina y Steta, S.C.

Firm Offices in Member Jurisdiction

Mexico

Mexico City
Monterrey
Querétaro
All Firm Contacts Committees
Corporate Social Responsibility Forum
Corporate Social Responsibility Forum
Young Lawyers Forum
Young Lawyers Forum
Carlos de la Puente Téllez 5533326968 edelapuente@s-s.mx
Carlo Gómez carlo.gomez@s-s.mx
Mariana Larrea mlarrea@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Guillermo Moreno M. +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Regina Orozco Soria 4772004302 rorozco@s-s.mx
Business Development Committee
Business Development Committee
Gaby Finkel gfinkel@s-s.mx
Silvia Garcia sgarcia@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Key Contact Partners Forum
Key Contact Partners Forum
Juan de la Vega jdelavega@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Gaby Finkel gfinkel@s-s.mx
Silvia Garcia sgarcia@s-s.mx
Practice Groups
Cannabis
Cannabis
Privacy & Data Protection
Privacy & Data Protection
Venture Capital
Venture Capital
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken esteban.soto@s-s.mx
Human Resources
Human Resources
Angela Alvarez angela.alvarez@s-s.mx
Carlos de la Puente Téllez 5533326968 edelapuente@s-s.mx
Juan de la Vega jdelavega@s-s.mx
Francisco Udave Trevino +525552795435 fudave@s-s.mx
Dispute Resolution
Dispute Resolution
Fernando Castillo fcastillo@s-s.mx
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Camilo Vazquez cvazquez@s-s.mx
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Banking & Finance
Banking & Finance
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Antonio Lopez 5569691491 alopez@s-s.mx
Guillermo Moreno M. +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken esteban.soto@s-s.mx
Artificial Intelligence
Artificial Intelligence
Carlos de la Puente Téllez 5533326968 edelapuente@s-s.mx
Jorge León-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)
Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)
International Corporate Transactions
International Corporate Transactions
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Roberto Fernández del Valle +525552795490 rfernandez@s-s.mx
Esteban Soto Loecken esteban.soto@s-s.mx
COVID-19
COVID-19
Carlos de la Puente Téllez 5533326968 edelapuente@s-s.mx
Regina Orozco Soria 4772004302 rorozco@s-s.mx
Antitrust & Competition
Antitrust & Competition
Ernesto Duhne eduhne@s-s.mx
Life Sciences
Life Sciences
Mariana Larrea mlarrea@s-s.mx
Regina Orozco Soria 4772004302 rorozco@s-s.mx
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
International Trade Law
International Trade Law
Energy, Mining & CleanTech
Energy, Mining & CleanTech
Juan Carlos Machorro jmachorro@s-s.mx
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG)
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG)
International Tax & Private Wealth
International Tax & Private Wealth
Other Firm Members
A. Flores 0 aflores@s-s.mx
Heriberto de J. Garza C. 52 81 8133 6010 hgarza@s-s.mx
Fabian Granados x fgranados@s-s.mx
Vicente Grau vgrau@s-s.mx
Aaron Levet alevet@s-s.mx
Carlos Montes cmontes@s-s.mx
Jose Antonio Noguera jnoguera@s-s.mx
Gloria Park gpark@s-s.mx
Jose Pozas jpozas@s-s.com.mx
Juan Rosas jrosas@s-s.mx
Monica Santoyo msantoyo@s-s.mx
Alfredo Sedano asedano@s-s.mx
Sebasti�n Su�rez V. +52 55 5279 5407 ssuarez@s-s.mx
Stephanie Uribe suribe@s-s.mx