Santamarina y Steta S.C.

We're experts in Mexico. We develop strategic solutions that produce successful results for our clients, with whom we collaborate as business partners.

We are a law firm that knows our country in depth. With more than 70 years of experience, we have evolved at the pace required by our clients and international markets to enhance our presence in Mexico. Our sensitivity and the important network of contacts we have allows us to identify the philosophy and work styles of investors and professionals from all over the world, strategically combining efforts to customize solutions and achieve success. We make our client’s challenges our own by understanding their environment and that of the local situation, culture and Mexican laws.

We stand out in the business community for our knowledge and understanding of local authorities, practices and laws, and because we offer the benefit of a one-stop-shop ensuring reliable, multidisciplinary, integrated and comprehensive approaches.

Our daily expectations aim to constantly monitor and understand market changes, business opportunities, threats and multidimensional challenges of growth in complex economies that require expert advice to better position and enhance our clients’ investments, interests, projects and dreams. Our expectations are simple: to provide quality and excellence and continue being the partner of choice.

Recent Firm News & Legal Updates

Legal Update

On January 31, 2020, the Tax Administration Service (as per its acronym inSpanish “SAT”) published an anticipated version of Annex 7 (legal criterion) of theTax Administrative Rules with the purpose of clarifying in which cases the VATshould be withheld.

Legal Update

The United Kingdom will leave the European Union on January 31st, 2020. Even though, for now, all Intellectual Property rights protected in that country through UE trademarks will remain unchanged until the end of the transition period, i.e. December 31st, 2020.

Legal Update

On January 24, 2020, a Decree issued by the Mexican Congress, was published in the Official Federal Gazette by means of which the following provisions were added: (i) article 190 Bis to the Federal Telecommunications and Broadcasting Law; and (ii) article 168 Ter to the Federal Criminal Code.

Firm Offices in Member Jurisdiction

Mexico

Mexico City
Monterrey
Querétaro
All Firm Contacts Committees
Business Development Committee
Business Development Committee
Jorge Barrero Stahl +52 81 8133 6001 jbarrero@s-s.mx
Silvia Garcia sgarcia@s-s.mx
Jorge Leon-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Key Contact Partners Forum
Key Contact Partners Forum
Juan de la Vega jdelavega@s-s.mx
Jorge Leon-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Gaby Finkel gfinkel@s-s.mx
Silvia Garcia sgarcia@s-s.mx
Board of Directors
Board of Directors
Jorge Leon-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Practice Groups
Corporate Governance
Corporate Governance
Privacy & Data Protection
Privacy & Data Protection
Venture Capital
Venture Capital
Human Resources
Human Resources
Angela Alvarez angela.alvarez@s-s.mx
Juan de la Vega jdelavega@s-s.mx
Luis Luca lluca@s-s.mx
Francisco Udave Trevino +525552795435 fudave@s-s.mx
Litigation, Arbitration & Dispute Resolution
Litigation, Arbitration & Dispute Resolution
Fernando Castillo fcastillo@s-s.mx
Camilo Vazquez cvazquez@s-s.mx
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
International Corporate Transactions
International Corporate Transactions
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Global Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
Global Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
Mergers & Acquisitions
Mergers & Acquisitions
Private Equity
Private Equity
Real Estate & Construction
Real Estate & Construction
Antitrust & Competition
Antitrust & Competition
Ernesto Duhne eduhne@s-s.mx
Jorge Leon-Orantes +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
International Trade Law
International Trade Law
Life Sciences
Life Sciences
Energy Mining & Clean Tech
Energy Mining & Clean Tech
Juan Carlos Machorro jmachorro@s-s.mx
Banking & Finance
Banking & Finance
Environmental
Environmental
Hospitality & Entertainment
Hospitality & Entertainment
Information Technology
Information Technology
Insurance & Reinsurance
Insurance & Reinsurance
Intellectual Property
Intellectual Property
Media & Telecommunication
Media & Telecommunication
Artificial Intelligence
Artificial Intelligence
International Tax & Private Wealth
International Tax & Private Wealth
Other Firm Members
A. Flores 0 aflores@s-s.mx
Heriberto de J. Garza C. 52 81 8133 6010 hgarza@s-s.mx
Carlo Gómez carlo.gomez@s-s.mx
Fabian Granados x fgranados@s-s.mx
Vicente Grau vgrau@s-s.mx
Aaron Levet alevet@s-s.mx
Carlos Montes cmontes@s-s.mx
Guillermo Moreno M. +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Jose Antonio Noguera jnoguera@s-s.mx
Gloria Park gpark@s-s.mx
Jose Pozas jpozas@s-s.com.mx
Juan Rosas jrosas@s-s.mx
Monica Santoyo msantoyo@s-s.mx
Alfredo Sedano asedano@s-s.mx
Sebasti�n Su�rez V. +52 55 5279 5407 ssuarez@s-s.mx
Stephanie Uribe suribe@s-s.mx