Practice & Industry Groups

Cannabis

World Law Group’s Cannabis Group consists of member firm lawyers with expertise in the legal issues relevant to industry participants. Our expertise includes much more than compliance-related activities (licensing, product specific taxes, regulatory compliance, etc.). For example, our expertise is critical when advising clients about the issues most relevant to the industry, such as banking, protection of IP, cross-border investments, specialized financing issues, particularized tax rules and the unique challenges in the M&A market. These issues are often complicated by differences between local and federal laws, their overlap with international treaties, and differences in cultural and political acceptance for the industry’s products. The group’s goal is to be able to tap each other’s local knowledge to provide relevant and seamless client advice, especially in cross-border investments (including research arrangements), financing and import/export challenges, in this fast-growing market.

For more information, contact this group's leaders or Hanna Shea, WLG’s Manager, Communication & Network Development.

Resources

Legal Update

Since the latest update from us in September 2019, there has been no legislative changes within the jurisdiction. However, there has been a great deal of debate about the four-year medicinal cannabis pilot programme, which was introduced in Denmark in 2018.

Legal Update

The Washington State Legislature’s 2020 regular session is proceeding, and we will be covering new bills as they develop.

Legal Update

The Democratic-led House of Representatives recently took another step forward in advancing legislation to support therapidly growing cannabis industry in the United States.

Resource, WLG Collaborations

Presentation from the WLG Cannabis Group on The Vaping Health Controversy.

Members
Main Contacts
Lewis Horowitz Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. +1 206 223 7401 horowitzl@lanepowell.com
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Dawn Beddard Gowling WLG Birmingham, England +447921881464 Dawn.Beddard@gowlingwlg.com
Florencia Castagnola Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +29 021 515 fcastagnola@guyer.com.uy
Zvika Friedman Herzog Fox & Neeman Tel Aviv, Israel 197236922020 Friedmanz@hfn.co.il
Ellen Gielen CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium ellen.gielen@cms-dsb.com
Juan Carlos Hernanz Cuatrecasas Barcelona, Spain juancarlos.hernanz@cuatrecasas.com
Justin Hobson Lane Powell PC Portland, Oregon - U.S.A. 5037782136 hobsonj@lanepowell.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Paul Kallenbach MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia paul.kallenbach@minterellison.com
Gundula Kjaer Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark +4525263463 gmk@bechbruun.com
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Brian Kujavsky Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada 514 841 6401 bkujavsky@dwpv.com
John Leaman Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay jsleaman@guyer.com.uy
Victor Liu Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada 14165975141 vliu@goodmans.ca
Pedro Lomba PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal 21 319 74 78 pedro.lomba@plmj.pt
Alejandro Luna Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico +52 15 513 846 413 aluna@s-s.mx
Laura Martinez Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico 525552795400 lamartinez@s-s.mx
Eduardo Nogueira Pinto PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal + 351 319 74 78 eduardo.nogueirapinto@plmj.pt
Evelina Norwinski Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. 202-942-6474 Evelina.Norwinski@arnoldporter.com
Susanne Pech CMS Germany Berlin, Germany Susanne.Pech@cms-hs.com
Koos Pretorius ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa +27 82 557 7927 kpretorius@ENSafrica.com
Glenn Pudelka Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. 617-239-0371 glenn.pudelka@lockelord.com
Wolfgang Rehmann Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany 089 21038281 w.rehmann@taylorwessing.com
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Neil Sheehy Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +1 416 597 4229 nsheehy@goodmans.ca
Beatriz Spiess Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay bmspiess@guyer.com.uy
Steven Stein Greenberg Glusker LLP Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. 3107856871 sstein@greenbergglusker.com
Simon Thomas Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands +1 345 914 5843 sthomas@campbellslegal.com
Daniel Tietjen Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany D.Tietjen@taylorwessing.com
Joanne van Harmelen ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa +27 21 410 25 00 jvanharmelen@ensafrica.com
Zohar Yahalom Herzog Fox & Neeman Tel Aviv, Israel yahalomz@hfn.co.il
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com