Practice & Industry Groups

Cannabis

World Law Group’s Cannabis Group consists of member firm lawyers with expertise in the legal issues relevant to industry participants. Our expertise includes much more than compliance-related activities (licensing, product specific taxes, regulatory compliance, etc.). For example, our expertise is critical when advising clients about the issues most relevant to the industry, such as banking, protection of IP, cross-border investments, specialized financing issues, particularized tax rules and the unique challenges in the M&A market. These issues are often complicated by differences between local and federal laws, their overlap with international treaties, and differences in cultural and political acceptance for the industry’s products. The group’s goal is to be able to tap each other’s local knowledge to provide relevant and seamless client advice, especially in cross-border investments (including research arrangements), financing and import/export challenges, in this fast-growing market.

For more information, contact this group's leaders or Hanna Shea, WLG’s Manager, Communication & Network Development.

Resources

Legal Update

The Law for the Regulation of Cannabis was approved by the House of Representatives, following an enactment of the Executive to formally enter into force within the national territory. However, in accordance with the legislative process in Mexico, the Senate’s approval is still pending.

WLG News

In 1987, representatives from six law firms participated in an organizational meeting in London to discuss the formation of an international legal network (one other firm was involved in the formation but was unable to attend). With visionary F. Kingston Berlew from Boston, Massachusetts, U.S.A. leading the way, this group of law firms started World Law Group - one of the first associations of its kind, one that is still thriving today.

Legal Update

The Danish medicinal cannabis pilot programme is planned to end this year (2021) after a four-year trial period. It is still to be decided at a political level how the future will look for the programme.

Resource
Resource, WLG Collaborations

Presentation from the WLG Cannabis Group on The Vaping Health Controversy.

Members
Main Contacts
Lewis Horowitz Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. +1 206 223 7401 horowitzl@lanepowell.com
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Cristina Amaral PLMJ Lisbon, Portugal 351213197580 cristina.amaral@plmj.pt
Estefanía Batalla Arias San Jose 88922930 estefania.batalla@ariaslaw.com
Dawn Beddard Gowling WLG Birmingham, England +447921881464 Dawn.Beddard@gowlingwlg.com
Constantine Boulougouris MinterEllison Sydney, Australia +612 9921 4368 c.boulougouris@minterellison.com
Florencia Castagnola Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +29 021 515 fcastagnola@guyer.com.uy
Esko Cate VILAF Ho Chi Minh City esko.cate@vilaf.com.vn
Whitney Debevoise Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 942 5042 whitney.debevoise@arnoldporter.com
Lindsay Everitt Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada 416-597-4174 leveritt@goodmans.ca
Martin Gantzhorn Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark +4525263636 mdg@bechbruun.com
Pedro Gaspar da Silva PLMJ pedro.gasparsilva@plmj.pt
Ellen Gielen CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium ellen.gielen@cms-dsb.com
Juan Carlos Hernanz Cuatrecasas Barcelona, Spain juancarlos.hernanz@cuatrecasas.com
Yoon Huh Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea yoonyoung.huh@bkl.co.kr
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Paul Kallenbach MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia paul.kallenbach@minterellison.com
Hamid Khanbhai Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands hkhanbhai@campbellslegal.com
Gundula Kjaer Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark +4525263463 gmk@bechbruun.com
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Brian Kujavsky Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada 514 841 6401 bkujavsky@dwpv.com
Mariana Larrea Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico mlarrea@s-s.mx
John Leaman Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay jsleaman@guyer.com.uy
Victor Liu Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada 14165975141 vliu@goodmans.ca
Pedro Lomba PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal 21 319 74 78 pedro.lomba@plmj.pt
Alejandro Luna Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico +52 15 513 846 413 aluna@s-s.mx
Michelle Mabugat Greenberg Glusker LLP Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. 3107856845 mmabugat@ggfirm.com
Laura Martinez Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico 525552795400 lamartinez@s-s.mx
Daniel Mosco Guyer & Regules , Uruguay dmosco@guyer.com.uy
Eduardo Nogueira Pinto PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal + 351 319 74 78 eduardo.nogueirapinto@plmj.pt
Evelina Norwinski Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. 202-942-6474 Evelina.Norwinski@arnoldporter.com
Myoung Oh Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea myoungseok.oh@bkl.co.kr
Susanne Pech CMS Germany Berlin, Germany Susanne.Pech@cms-hs.com
Koos Pretorius ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa +27 82 557 7927 kpretorius@ENSafrica.com
Glenn Pudelka Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. 617-239-0371 glenn.pudelka@lockelord.com
Wolfgang Rehmann Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany 089 21038281 w.rehmann@taylorwessing.com
Altair Richards ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa arichards@ENSafrica.com
Jessada Sawatdipong Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand +66 2009 5000 jessada.s@mhm-global.com
Jan Schmitz Taylor Wessing Berlin, Germany J.Schmitz@taylorwessing.com
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Neil Sheehy Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +1 416 597 4229 nsheehy@goodmans.ca
Richard Spencer Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands rspencer@campbellslegal.com
Beatriz Spiess Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay bmspiess@guyer.com.uy
Steven Stein Greenberg Glusker LLP Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. 3107856871 sstein@greenbergglusker.com
Alexa Steinberg Greenberg Glusker LLP , California - U.S.A. asteinberg@ggfirm.com
Simon Thomas Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands +1 345 914 5843 sthomas@campbellslegal.com
Daniel Tietjen Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany D.Tietjen@taylorwessing.com
Marco Torronteguy TozziniFreire Advogados São Paulo, Brazil mtorronteguy@tozzinifreire.com.br
Vsevolod Tyupa CMS Russia Moscow, Russia vsevolod.tyupa@cmslegal.ru
Joanne van Harmelen ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa +27 21 410 25 00 jvanharmelen@ensafrica.com
Daniele Vecchi Gianni & Origoni Milan, Italy +39 02 763 741 dvecchi@gop.it
Andrea Villamizar D'Empaire , Venezuela +584142194353 avillamizar@dra.com.ve
Zohar Yahalom Herzog Fox & Neeman Tel Aviv, Israel yahalomz@hfn.co.il
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Richmond, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com
Ashley LeCroy World Law Group Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada +1 202 904 2477 alecroy@theworldlawgroup.com