Practice & Industry Groups

Energy Mining & Clean Tech

World Law Group’s global Energy, Mining & CleanTech Group is made up of lawyers from member firms in leading extraction and processing economies. Group members are legal professionals working in one or more of:

  • Traditional energies such as oil, gas and coal, along with mid-stream infrastructure such as pipelines, LNG facilities and refineries, electricity generation and distribution, including nuclear;
  • Newer energy sources including shale gas;
  • Mining exploration, project development and production;
  • CleanTech and renewable energies, including biofuels, wind, solar, etc. (including project financing and tax incentive programs) and climate-change related topics such as emissions trading.

In addition to working together on M&A, asset acquisition and divestitures, project development and financing, regulatory and other matters for leading energy and mining players worldwide, members of the Group meet regularly at major industry events and during the WLG’s own members’ meetings where they discuss new developments and share experiences resolving client challenges worldwide.

Upcoming Events

Resources

Legal Update

Through Circular 6869, the Central Bank introduced changes in the regulation applicable to transfer dollars out of the country and benefited the hydrocarbon sector in the Neuquén Basin.

Legal Update, Member Firm News

Goodmans Guide to Doing Business in Canada was developed to provide executives, counseland potential United States and foreign investors with a practical overview of Canada’s legal framework and keybusiness legislation.

Legal Update

Through Circular 6869, the Central Bank introduced changes in the regulation applicable to transfer dollars out of the country and benefited the hydrocarbon sector in the Neuquén Basin.

Members
Main Contacts
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Jan Celine Abaño-Ranada SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines jccaranada@syciplaw.com
Marti Adroer Cuatrecasas Barcelona, Spain marti.adroer@cuatrecasas.com
Rita Albuquerque PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal 351213197361 rita.albuquerque@plmj.pt
Carlos Alfaro Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +54 11 4393 3003 cealfaro@alfarolaw.com
David Atnipp Greenberg Traurig, LLP Dallas, Texas - U.S.A. atnippd@gtlaw.com
Antje Becker-Boley CMS Germany Stuttgart, Germany 0 antje.becker@cms-hs.com
Dawn Beddard Gowling WLG Birmingham, England +447921881464 Dawn.Beddard@gowlingwlg.com
Marie-Claude Bellemare Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada 514-841-6489 mcbellemare@dwpv.com
Marcus Best MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia marcus.best@minterellison.com
Mark Carkeet MinterEllison Brisbane, Australia mark.carkeet@minterellison.com
William Carmody Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland wcarmody@mhc.ie
Gregory Casas Greenberg Traurig, LLP Houston, Texas - U.S.A. casasg@gtlaw.com
Ignacio Celorrio Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina icelorrio@alfarolaw.com
David Cranston Greenberg Glusker LLP Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. (310)785-6897 dcranston@greenbergglusker.com
Nicolas Ferla Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina nferla@alfarolaw.com
Karl Fryzel Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. +1 617 517 5577 karl.fryzel@lockelord.com
Diego Gallegos Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2843 Diego.Gallegos@ariaslaw.com
Dan Gormley Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada dgormley@goodmans.ca
Luu Hoang Ha VILAF Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam +84 83 827 7300 ha@vilaf.com.vn
John Hammond CMS Germany Stuttgart, Germany +49 711 976 4382 john.hammond@cms-hs.com
Susumu Hanawa Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand susumu.hanawa@chandlermhm.com
Per Hemmer Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark phe@bechbruun.com
Juan Carlos Hernanz Cuatrecasas Barcelona, Spain juancarlos.hernanz@cuatrecasas.com
Muireann Hernon Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland +35 38 6792 3922 mhernon@mhc.ie
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Martika Jonk CMS Netherlands Amsterdam, Netherlands +31 65 538 4343 martika.jonk@cms-dsb.com
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Natalia Kozyrenko CMS Russia Moscow, Russia natalia.kozyrenko@cmslegal.ru
Holger Kraft CMS Germany Hamburg, Germany holger.kraft@cms-hs.com
Matthew Lakatos-Hayward Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada 416-849-6906 mlakatoshayward@goodmans.ca
Vicente Lines Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2810 vicente.lines@ariaslaw.com
Catherine Lyons Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada clyons@goodmans.ca
Juan Carlos Machorro Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico jmachorro@s-s.mx
Otsile Matlou ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa omatlou@ensafrica.com
Matthew McTygue Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. +1 617 239 0494 matt.mctygue@lockelord.com
Aaron Roi Riturban SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines arbriturban@syciplaw.com
Prashanth Sabeshan AZB & Partners Mumbai, India prashanth.sabeshan@azbpartners.com
Jessada Sawatdipong Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand +662 266 6485 jessada.s@chandlermhm.com
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Mark Smith Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8357 Mark.Smith@millermartin.com
Beatriz Spiess Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay bmspiess@guyer.com.uy
Federico Susena Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay fsusena@guyer.com.uy
Sebastien Theriault Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada +1 514 841 6526 stheriault@dwpv.com
Deniz Tuncel Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey dtuncel@herguner.av.tr
Timothy Unger Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP Houston, Texas - U.S.A. +1 713 220 4370 tunger@HuntonAK.com
Ignacio Urrutia Urenda, Rencoret, Orrego y Dörr Santiago, Chile iurrutia@urod.cl
Uwe Uusitalo Castrén & Snellman Helsinki, Finland uwe.uusitalo@castren.fi
Cecilia van der Weijden CMS Netherlands Amsterdam, Netherlands cecilia.vanderweijden@cms-dsb.com
Arnaud Van Oekel CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium (322)743-6954 arnaud.vanoekel@cms-db.com
Juha Vayrynen Castrén & Snellman Helsinki, Finland juha.vayrynen@castren.fi
John Wolf Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands jwolf@campbellslegal.com
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com