Practice & Industry Groups

Litigation, Arbitration & Dispute Resolution

With a robust litigation and dispute resolution practice always having been a requirement for admission to World Law Group, the membership of our global Litigation, Arbitration & Dispute Resolution Group encompasses senior litigators and arbitrators with experience at the highest levels in their jurisdictions, as well as many who have served as arbitrators or mediators in complex international proceedings.

In addition to coming together at WLG conferences, LADR Group members meet at other regional and international events in their field to exchange information about developments in litigation, mediation and arbitration in their respective jurisdictions, and to share experiences in appearing before courts and other tribunals. LADR members have also collaborated on works including International Civil Procedure, published by Kluwer Law International.

In recent years, LADR members have teamed up to produce cross-border victories, including:

Successfully assisting a member’s client to finally obtain and collect a multi-million US$ award in Norway and Switzerland after a long legal battle with an offshore company via a “reverse piercing” of the corporate veil;

Assisting one member’s Asian manufacturing client win a number out-of-court settlements regarding the violation of the client’s copyrights by Russian companies in a matter involving both counterfeit and parallel-import cases;

Winning the dismissal of a lawsuit brought in the U.S. by a forum-shopping German company against one member firm’s Iraq-based telecommunications client.

Resources

Legal Update

A major amendment to the Code of Civil Procedure has been signed by the President on 24 July 2019 and is now awaiting publication.

Legal Update, Member Firm News

Al Tamimi and Company’s international arbitration lawyers have contributed a chapter in this year’s Middle Eastern and African Arbitration Review published by Global Arbitration Review.

Legal Update, Member Firm News

Primeo Fund v HSBC: Cayman Islands: In an important judgment delivered on 13 June 2019, the Cayman Islands Court of Appeal (Beatson, Birt and Field JJA) dismissed the appeal brought by Primeo Fund (in Official Liquidation), a Madoff feeder fund, against the Grand Court judgment (Jones J) which had dismissed Primeo’s US$2 billion claim.

Members
Main Contacts
Christiaan Scholten van Aschat CMS Netherlands Amsterdam, Netherlands +31 20 301 6310 christiaan.scholtenvanaschat@cms-dsb.com
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
James Austin-Smith Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands jaustinsmith@campbellslegal.com
John Bang Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea jpb@bkl.co.kr
Rajendra Barot AZB & Partners Mumbai, India rajendra.barot@azbpartners.com
Dhinesh Bhaskaran Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2897 dhinesh@shearndelamore.com
Aditya Bhat AZB & Partners Mumbai, India aditya.bhat@azbpartners.com
Declan Black Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland dblack@mhc.ie
Supasit Boonsanong Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand +662 266 6485 Supasit@cmhm.com
Carlos Brandes Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay cbrandes@guyer.com.uy
Paulette Brown Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. paulette.brown@lockelord.com
Catarina Carvalho PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal +351 213197531 catarina.guedescarvalho@plmj.pt
Fernando Castillo Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico fcastillo@s-s.mx
Ricardo Cestero Greenberg Glusker Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. (310)785-6809 rcestero@greenbergglusker.com
Scott Chesterman MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia 61386082614 scott.chesterman@minterellison.com
Brian Child Campbells Road Town, British Virgin Islands bchild@campbellslegal.com
Matthew Christensen Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea +82 23 404 0227 matthew.christensen@bkl.co.kr
Carla Coelho PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal 351213197521 carla.goiscoelho@plmj.pt
Guy Cowan Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands gcowan@campbellslegal.com
Hans DahlbergKolga Setterwalls Stockholm, Sweden Hans.DahlbergKolga@setterwalls.se
Elisabeth de Nadal Cuatrecasas Barcelona, Spain elisabeth.denadal@cuatrecasas.com
Jean-Marie DeBacker CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium jeanmarie.debacker@cms-db.com
Whitney Debevoise Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Colombia - U.S.A. +1 202 942 5042 whitney.debevoise@arnoldporter.com
John Devlin Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. Devlinj@lanepowell.com
Renaud Dupont CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium +322 743 6983 renaud.dupont@cms-db.com
Jeremy Durston Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands 1345-949-2648 jdurston@campbellslegal.com
Rudy Englund Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. englundr@lanepowell.com
Liam Faulkner Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands lfaulkner@campbellslegal.com
Melvyn Fernandes Vaish Associates New Delhi, India melvyn@vaishlaw.com
Lai Wai Fong Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia waifong@shearndelamore.com
Christian Frank Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany c.frank@taylorwessing.com
Matt Freeman Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands mfreeman@campbellslegal.com
Martin Gantzhorn Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark mdg@bechbruun.com
Jean-Francois Goffin CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium 32 2 743 69 21 jeanfrancois.goffin@cms-db.com
Rodney Gomez Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia rodney@shearndelamore.com
Mark Goodman Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands mgoodman@campbellslegal.com
Rajasingam Gothandapani Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia rajasingam@shearndelamore.com
Tonya Gray Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP Dallas, Texas - U.S.A. tonyagray@HuntonAK.com
Thomas Grohman Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. +1 206 223 7044 grohmant@lanepowell.com
Shelby Grubbs Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. shelby.grubbs@millermartin.com
Cedric Guyot CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium +322 743 69 65 cedric.guyot@cms-db.com
Marko Hentunen Castrén & Snellman Helsinki, Finland marko.hentunen@castren.fi
Raul Herrera Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Colombia - U.S.A. 202-942-6601 raul.herrera@aporter.com
Antonio Hierro Cuatrecasas Madrid, Spain antonio.hierro@cuatrecasas.com
Jens Hjortskov Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark +45 7227 0000 jeh@bechbruun.com
kitae Hong Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea kt.hong@bkl.co.kr
Marjolaine Jakob CMS von Erlach Poncet Zürich, Switzerland 41442851111 marjolaine.jakob@cms-vep.com
Byoungha Jeon Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea byoungha.jeon@bkl.co.kr
Martin Jetlund Advokatfirmaet Schjødt Oslo, Norway maje@schjodt.no
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Jose Miguel Judice PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal (351)213-1973 josemiguel.judice@plmj.pt
Dong Wook (Tony) Kang Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea +82 2 3404 0158 tony.dw.kang@bkl.co.kr
Jeyanthini Kannaperan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2849 jeyanthini@shearndelamore.com
David Kay Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1121 david.kay@dbr.com
Hamid Khanbhai Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands hkhanbhai@campbellslegal.com
Kap-You (Kevin) Kim Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea +82-2-3404-0333 kevin.kim@bkl.co.kr
Michael Koch Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +1 416 597 5156 mkoch@goodmans.ca
Thierry Koenig SA ENSafrica Port Louis, Mauritius +230 5729 9990 tkoenig@ENSafrica.com
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Holger Kraft CMS Germany Hamburg, Germany holger.kraft@cms-hs.com
Francois Kremer Arendt & Medernach Luxembourg, Luxembourg +352 407 878 276 francois.kremer@arendt.com
Sathya Kumardas Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2855 sathya@shearndelamore.com
Soon Kwon Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea soonik.kwon@bkl.co.kr
Alexius Simon Lee Kim Soon Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 603 2027 2837 alexius@shearndelamore.com
Norman H. Levine Greenberg Glusker Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. 1 310 201 7451 nlevine@greenbergglusker.com
Nuno Libano Monteiro PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal 351 213 197 521 nuno.libanomonteiro@plmj.pt
Jeremy Lightfoot Campbells Hong Kong, Hong Kong +852 3708 3000 jlightfoot@campbellslegal.com
Torsten Loercher CMS Germany Cologne, Germany torsten.loercher@cms-hs.com
Guy Manning Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands gmanning@campbellslegal.com
Alison Martin Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8243 alison.martin@millermartin.com
Sharon Mayo Arnold & Porter San Francisco, California - U.S.A. Sharon.Douglass.Mayo@aporter.com
Rafael Medeiros Mimica TozziniFreire Advogados São Paulo, Brazil Rmedeiros@tozzinifreire.com.br
Pedro Metello de Napoles PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal pedro.metellodenapoles@plmj.pt
Jes Mikkelsen Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark +45 7227 3586 jam@bechbruun.com
K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2921 shanti@shearndelamore.com
Aaron Moss Greenberg Glusker Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. amoss@greenbergglusker.com
Wilson Mudge Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Colombia - U.S.A. Wilson.Mudge@aporter.com
Rabindra Nathan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia rabindra@shearndelamore.com
Beverley Newbold MinterEllison Sydney, Australia beverley.newbold@minterellison.com
Louis-Martin O'Neill Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada +1 514 841 6547 lmoneill@dwpv.com
Christopher Parker Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6456 chris.parker@millermartin.com
Natasha Partos Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands npartos@campbellslegal.com
Michael Popkin Campbells Hong Kong, Hong Kong +852 3708 3011 mpopkin@campbellslegal.com
Ana Teresa Pulido PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal 351 21 319 73 00 anateresa.pulido@plmj.pt
Andrew Pullinger Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands +1 345 949 2648 APullinger@campbellslegal.com
Hemant Puthran Vaish Associates Mumbai, India hemant@vaishlaw.com
Johannes Reich-Rohrwig CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Vienna, Austria johannes.reich-rohrwig@cms-rrh.com
German Rojas Arias San José, Costa Rica german.rojas@ariaslaw.com
Carmen Rosa PLMJ Faro, Portugal carmen.baptistarosa@plmj.pt
Martin Rothermel Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany m.rothermel@taylorwessing.com
Peter Ruby Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +1 416 597 4184 pruby@goodmans.ca
Dorothee Ruckteschler CMS Germany Stuttgart, Germany Dorothee.Ruckteschler@cms-hs.com
Juan Ruiz Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +54 11 4303 3003 jruiz@alfarolaw.com
Michael Runyan Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. runyanm@lanepowell.com
Klaus Sachs CMS Germany Munich, Germany klaus.sachs@cms-hs.com
Mariana Santo Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay msanto@guyer.com.uy
Markus Schoener CMS Germany Hamburg, Germany ++49 40 37630365 markus.schoener@cms-hs.com
Nad Segaram Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia nad@shearndelamore.com
Fernando Eduardo Serec TozziniFreire Advogados São Paulo, Brazil +55 11 5086 5000 fserec@tozzinifreire.com.br
Vijayendra Singh AZB & Partners Mumbai, India vijayendra.singh@azbpartners.com
Peter Smith Al Tamimi & Company Dubai, United Arab Emirates p.smith@tamimi.com
Igor Sokolov CMS Russia Moscow, Russia igor.sokolov@cmslegal.ru
Wu Song Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea wucheol.song@bkl.co.kr
Kanjana Suthiprapa Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand +662 266 6485 kanjana.s@chandlermhm.com
Sagadaven Thangavelu Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia sagadaven@shearndelamore.com
Shaun Tracey Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands 13459145862 stracey@campbellslegal.com
Camilo Vazquez Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico cvazquez@s-s.mx
Beat von Rechenberg CMS von Erlach Poncet Zürich, Switzerland 41 44 285 1111 beat.vonrechenberg@cms-vep.com
Alexander von Reden CMS Germany Frankfurt, Germany alexander.von_reden@cms-hs.com
Bill Walker Greenberg Glusker Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. 1 310 201 7482 wwalker@greenbergglusker.com
Charlotte Walker Campbells Road Town, British Virgin Islands cwalker@campbellslegal.com
Aline Wey Speirs CMS von Erlach Poncet Zürich, Switzerland +41 44 285 13 80 aline.wey@cms-vep.com
Neil Wilcove Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6497 neil.wilcove@millermartin.com
Peter Wood MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia peter.wood@minterellison.com
Jonathan Young Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. +1 617 239 0367 jonathan.young@lockelord.com
Sergey Yuryev CMS Russia Moscow, Russia sergey.yuryev@cmslegal.ru
David Zailer Herzog Fox & Neeman Tel Aviv, Israel zailer@hfn.co.il
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Colombia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Washington, District of Colombia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com
Ashley LeCroy World Law Group Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada +1 202 904 2477 alecroy@theworldlawgroup.com