Practice & Industry Groups

Venture Capital

Early Stage Venture Capital is focused on providing financing to early-stage, high-potential and high-risk start-up companies. These cutting-edge, venture-backed companies and start-ups are disrupting industries and markets around the world. For all players, new global legal realities require counsel that understands both sides of the funding equation, and can deliver smart, practical advice that helps viable businesses grow while enabling investors to make a healthy return on their investments.

World Law Group member firms act on behalf of high growth, innovative and emerging companies in all industries, and there are numerous opportunities to collaborate and share knowledge and local insight among our firms.

The Venture Capital Group holds discussions in quarterly telephone conference calls and at WLG meetings, based upon an agenda developed over email in the weeks leading up to the calls and meetings. Member firms are also encouraged to submit legal updates of developments in their respective jurisdictions for publication on-line.

For more information, contact Hanna Shea, Manager, Communications and Network Development, World Law Group

Resources

Legal Update

In private equity transactions, investors are expected to exit in the short or medium term. Several exit routes are available to capital investors: trade sale, transfer to the management team, sale to another investment fund or initial public offering.

Legal Update

A new law published in the evening of December 23, 2019, declares a public emergency in economic and financial, tax, administrative, pension, tariff, energy, health and social matters and grants special powers to the National Executive Branch until December 31

Awards & Accolades

We are proud to share that The Legal 500 Latin America 2019 has ranked our Banking & Finance, Corporate and M&A, and Dispute Resolution practices as Tier 1 in its Latin America Guide for 2019.

Resource
Members
Main Contacts
Allan Goodman Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +416 597 4243 agoodman@goodmans.ca
Jens Wolf Taylor Wessing Frankfurt, Germany J.Wolf@taylorwessing.com
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Carlos Alfaro Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +54 11 4393 3003 cealfaro@alfarolaw.com
Bente Bahnsen Taylor Wessing Hamburg, Germany B.Bahnsen@taylorwessing.com
Konstantin Baranov CMS Russia Moscow, Russia Konstantin.Baranov@cmslegal.ru
Alan Craig Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands acraig@campbellslegal.com
John Paul De Leon SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines jpvdeleon@syciplaw.com
Daniele dos Santos Azevedo TozziniFreire Advogados São Paulo, Brazil +55 11 5086 5475 dsazevedo@tozzinifreire.com.br
Dimitris Emvalomenos Bahas, Gramatidis & Partners Athens, Greece d.emvalomenos@bahagram.com
Diego Gallegos Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2843 Diego.Gallegos@ariaslaw.com
Elliot Greenstone Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada egreenstone@dwpv.com
Neil Hendron Gowling WLG Birmingham, England Neil.Hendron@gowlingwlg.com
April Holland Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8296 april.holland@millermartin.com
Thomas (Jeff) Jefferson Locke Lord LLP Providence, Rhode Island - U.S.A. +1 401 276 6417 jeff.jefferson@lockelord.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Tobias Kilian CMS Germany Frankfurt, Germany +49 71 701 316 Tobias.Kilian@cms-hs.com
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Aleksi Kujanpää Castrén & Snellman Helsinki, Finland aleksi.kujanpaa@castren.fi
Oduvaldo Lara Junior TozziniFreire Advogados São Paulo, Brazil 551150865149 olara@tozzinifreire.com.br
Keun Byung Lee Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea +82 2 3404 0124 kb.lee@bkl.co.kr
Kyle Lee WongPartnership LLP Singapore, Singapore kyle.lee@wongpartnership.com
Jorge Leon-Orantes Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Tshepo Mathabathe ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa tmathabathe@ensafrica.com
Pedro Mazer Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +54 11 4393 3003 pmazer@alfarolaw.com
Stefan Mueller CMS Germany Berlin, Germany Stefan-Ulrich.Mueller@cms-hs.com
Sinwei Ong WongPartnership LLP Singapore, Singapore sinwei.ong@wongpartnership.com
Frank Paganelli Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. paganellif@lanepowell.com
Chulhong Park Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea +82 2 3404 0461 ch.park@bkl.co.kr
Eric Perlmutter-Gumbiner Greenberg Glusker LLP Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. +1 310 201 7438 eperlmutter@greenbergglusker.com
Koos Pretorius ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa +27 82 557 7927 kpretorius@ENSafrica.com
Kirk Rauliuk Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada krauliuk@goodmans.ca
Jennifer Reilly Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands 3459145879 jreilly@campbellslegal.com
Gautam Saha AZB & Partners Mumbai, India gautam.saha@azbpartners.com
Dong Seo Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea dongwoo.seo@bkl.co.kr
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Nicholas Choi Chuan Tan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2816 nicholas.tan@shearndelamore.com
Simon Thomas Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands +1 345 914 5843 sthomas@campbellslegal.com
Annemieke van der Valk ENSafrica avandervalk@ensafrica.com
Maria Weiers Taylor Wessing Frankfurt, Germany M.Weiers@taylorwessing.com
Joerg Zaetzch CMS Germany Berlin, Germany Joerg.Zaetzsch@cms-hs.com
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com