PLMJ

We are a law firm based in Portugal that combines a full service with bespoke legal craftsmanship. For more than 50 years, we have taken an innovative and creative approach that has produced specific, strategic solutions to effectively defend the interests of our clients.

We are a full-service firm and we support our clients in all areas of the law, often with multidisciplinary teams, and always acting as a business partner in the most strategic decision-making processes. PLMJ has specialist lawyers that know the sectors and markets they work in well, and they always keep in close contact with the regulators for each sector

With the aim of being close to our clients, we created PLMJ Colab, our collaborative network of law firms spread across Portugal and other countries with which it has cultural and strategic ties. PLMJ Colab makes the best use of resources and provides a concerted response to the international challenges of our clients, wherever they are. The national partnerships allow us to extend PLMJ’s presence from Lisbon, Porto and Faro to the Azores, Coimbra, Guimarães and Madeira. International collaboration is ensured through firms specialising in the legal systems and local cultures of Angola, China/Macao, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, São Tome and Príncipe and Timor-Leste.

We also have international desks specializing in Angola, China, France, Germany, Italy, Mozambique, Scandinavia, Switzerland and UK markets. Each desk focuses on a specific market and has a multidisciplinary team experienced in supporting and advising international investors. Besides knowing the idiosyncrasies of language and culture, these teams have a deep knowledge of the market, legislation and workings of the economy of the place where they work.

Recent Firm News & Legal Updates

WLG News

Twelve World Law Group member firms are shortlisted for the 2022 IFLR Europe Awards, which will be held on May 5 at The Biltmore, London.

Legal Update

Following the outbreak of war in Ukraine, the Portuguese Government has approved a set of temporary protection measures for Ukrainian nationals.

Legal Update

The proposal for a directive on the recovery and resolution of insurance and reinsurance companies enshrines the no creditor worse off principle as provided for in the Bank Recovery and Resolution Directive ("BRRD").

Firm Offices in Member Jurisdiction

Portugal

Lisboa
Porto
Faro

Firm Offices in Other Jurisdictions

Africa & Middle East

Africa 
Angola, Luanda
Mozambique, Maputo

* Indicates affiliated firm

All Firm Contacts Committees
Corporate Social Responsibility Forum
Corporate Social Responsibility Forum
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Key Contact Partners Forum
Key Contact Partners Forum
First Fifteen (Young Lawyers)
First Fifteen (Young Lawyers)
Practice Groups
Energy, Mining, & CleanTech
Energy, Mining, & CleanTech
Artificial Intelligence
Artificial Intelligence
Life Sciences
Life Sciences
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG)
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG)
Daniela Amaral daniela.amaral@plmj.pt
Bruno Ferreira bruno.ferreira@plmj.pt
International Tax & Private Wealth
International Tax & Private Wealth
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Diogo Duarte Campos diogo.duartecampos@plmj.pt
André Figueiredo andre.figueiredo@plmj.pt
Banking & Finance
Banking & Finance
Venture Capital
Venture Capital
André Figueiredo andre.figueiredo@plmj.pt
Antitrust & Competition
Antitrust & Competition
Ricardo Oliveira ricardo.oliveira@plmj.pt
Other Firm Members
Joana Brandão joana.brandao@plmj.pt
Petra Carreira petra.carreira@plmj.pt
Joana Cordeiro joana.cordeiro@plmj.pt
Sofia Coutinho sofia.coutinho@plmj.pt
Fábio Duarte Silva fabio.duartesilva@plmj.pt
Inês Gomes da Cruz ines.gomesdacruz@plmj.pt
Sebastião Machado sebastiao.machado@plmj.pt
Pedro Roque Coelho pedro.roquecoelho@plmj.pt
Bárbara Valarinho barbara.valarinho@plmj.pt
Bárbara Valarinho abva@plmj.pt