PLMJ

We are a law firm based in Portugal that combines a full service with bespoke legal craftsmanship. For more than 50 years, we have taken an innovative and creative approach that has produced specific, strategic solutions to effectively defend the interests of our clients.

We are a full-service firm and we support our clients in all areas of the law, often with multidisciplinary teams, and always acting as a business partner in the most strategic decision-making processes. PLMJ has specialist lawyers that know the sectors and markets they work in well, and they always keep in close contact with the regulators for each sector

With the aim of being close to our clients, we created PLMJ Colab, our collaborative network of law firms spread across Portugal and other countries with which it has cultural and strategic ties. PLMJ Colab makes the best use of resources and provides a concerted response to the international challenges of our clients, wherever they are. The national partnerships allow us to extend PLMJ’s presence from Lisbon, Porto and Faro to the Azores, Coimbra, Guimarães and Madeira. International collaboration is ensured through firms specialising in the legal systems and local cultures of Angola, China/Macao, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, São Tome and Príncipe and Timor-Leste.

We also have international desks specializing in Angola, China, France, Germany, Italy, Mozambique, Scandinavia, Switzerland and UK markets. Each desk focuses on a specific market and has a multidisciplinary team experienced in supporting and advising international investors. Besides knowing the idiosyncrasies of language and culture, these teams have a deep knowledge of the market, legislation and workings of the economy of the place where they work.

Recent Firm News & Legal Updates

Member Firm News

We are very pleased to announce the hiring of Filipe Avides Moreira, the Porto office’s newest partner and head of corporate.

Legal Update

The main objective of this law is to offer a set of guarantees to British citizens who are resident in Portugal on the date the UK leaves the EU."

Legal Update

Once the Portuguese tax authorities recognise the status of non-habitual tax resident, taxpayers in these circumstances acquire the right to be taxed as non-habitual residents for a period of 10 consecutive years.

Firm Offices in Member Jurisdiction

Portugal

Lisboa
Faro
Porto

Firm Offices in Other Jurisdictions

Europe

England, London

Africa & Middle East

Africa 
Angola, Luanda
Mozambique, Maputo

* Indicates affiliated firm

All Firm Contacts Committees
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Marketing & Business Development Professionals Forum
Key Contact Partners Forum
Key Contact Partners Forum
Member Firm Leaders Forum
Member Firm Leaders Forum
Practice Groups
Corporate Governance
Corporate Governance
Energy Mining & Clean Tech
Energy Mining & Clean Tech
International Corporate Transactions
International Corporate Transactions
International Trade Law
International Trade Law
International Tax & Private Wealth
International Tax & Private Wealth
Litigation, Arbitration & Dispute Resolution
Litigation, Arbitration & Dispute Resolution
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Restructuring & Insolvency Resolution
Human Resources
Human Resources
Manuel Cavaleiro Brandao manuel.cavaleirobrandao@plmj.pt
Abel Mesquita abel.mesquita@plmj.pt
Nuno Morgado nuno.morgado@plmj.pt
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Infrastructure & Public-Private Partnerships
Diogo Duarte Campos diogo.duartecampos@plmj.pt
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
Intellectual Property & Information Technology
Artificial Intelligence
Artificial Intelligence
Privacy & Data Protection
Privacy & Data Protection
Global Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
Global Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
Information Technology
Information Technology
Intellectual Property
Intellectual Property
Media & Telecommunication
Media & Telecommunication
Transportation
Transportation
Antitrust & Competition
Antitrust & Competition
Ricardo Oliveira ricardo.oliveira@plmj.pt
Other Firm Members
Rita Alarc�o J�dice raj@plmj.pt
Rui Alves Pereira rui.alvespereira@plmj.pt
Raquel Azevedo raquel.azevedo@plmj.pt
Ruben Brigolas ruben.brigolas@plmj.pt
Jorge Brito Pereira jorge.britopereira@plmj.pt
Joana Cordeiro joana.cordeiro@plmj.pt
Vasco de Ata�de Marques vasco.ataidemarques@plmj.pt
Matilde de Mello Cabral matilde.mellocabral@plmj.pt
Rodrigo Formigal rodrigo.formigal@plmj.pt
Marta Fradepires 0 marta.fradepires@plmj.pt
Jose Ricardo Goncalves josericardo.goncalves@plmj.pt
Francisco Lino Dias francisco.linodias@plmj.pt
Paula Martinho da Silva paula.martinhodasilva@plmj.pt
Maria Joao Mata mariajoao.mata@plmj.pt
Tiago Mendon�a de Castro tmc@plmj.pt
Tom�s Monteiro tomas.monteiro@plmj.pt
Nuno Morais Sarmento nuno.moraissarmento@plmj.pt
Nuno Pimentel Gomes nuno.pimentelgomes@plmj.pt
Hugo Rosa Ferreira hugo.rosaferreira@plmj.pt
Pedro S�ragga Leal pedro.saraggaleal@plmj.pt
B�rbara Valarinho barbara.valarinho@plmj.pt