Practice & Industry Groups

Artificial Intelligence

Artificial Intelligence represents a major technological, economic and social change that has entered the mainstream. Worldwide, there are many hubs for AI research and development and we want WLG members to be widely viewed as preferred counsel for material AI commercial or corporate finance transactions, disputes and legal developments, because of our expertise, creativity/imagination, and ethical professionalism. We want to be involved with exciting AI developments, so that we are working in a highly internationalized, intellectually challenging, new and remunerative sector.

As a member, the client focuses will be:

  1. Generating AI-related work from existing and prospective non-AI clients;
  2. Generating AI-related work from new and current AI clients; and
  3. Supporting/generating capital markets/M&A work regarding acquisitions and financings of AI businesses.

Although not pigeonholed by area of law, we anticipate AI requiring more than technology law expertise:

  1. Technology and Commercial (e.g. contract provisions for the purchase or use of AI or AI output, and the use of AI to form contracts)
  2. Corporate (Tax, Financing, M&A, Securities, Governance)
  3. Data protection/privacy/cybersecurity (e.g. risk management strategies for training an AI without contravening privacy legislation. Protecting AI from cyber-attacks and from implementing unintended cyber-attacks against other systems)
  4. Intellectual Property (e.g., patent and copyright protection for AI itself and for works created by AI. Ownership of AI output)
  5. Regulatory (Consumer Protection, Health, and Non-Discrimination) and AI user Compliance
  6. Competition (e.g. inter-AI system collusion and price-fixing. Amassing big data for AI training and exclusion of others)
  7. Dispute Resolution and Crisis Management(e.g. contract breach caused by AI. Product liability for AI. Infringement with respect to accessing data for AI training)

Upcoming Events

Resources

WLG News

In 1987, representatives from six law firms participated in an organizational meeting in London to discuss the formation of an international legal network (one other firm was involved in the formation but was unable to attend). With visionary F. Kingston Berlew from Boston, Massachusetts, U.S.A. leading the way, this group of law firms started World Law Group - one of the first associations of its kind, one that is still thriving today.

Legal Update
In Argentina, we are expecting some changes regarding the protection of personal data in the upcoming year. The half-sanction in Congress of Convention 108+ and the presentation of a new comprehensive reform bill of Laws No. 25,326 and No. 26,951 announce the possibility of major updates.
Member Firm News
Gowling WLG's head of artificial intelligence (UK), Matt Hervey, has co-edited a new book with 4 Pump Court's Dr Matthew Lavy discussing the key legal considerations around artificial intelligence (AI).
Members
Main Contacts
Johannes Juranek CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Vienna, Austria johannes.juranek@cms-rrh.com
Peter Ruby Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +1 416 597 4184 pruby@goodmans.ca
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Bernardine Adkins Gowling WLG Birmingham, England +870 903 1000 bernardine.adkins@gowlingwlg.com
Cristina Amaral PLMJ Lisbon, Portugal 351213197580 cristina.amaral@plmj.pt
Ridwaan Boda ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa rboda@ensafrica.com
Stefanie Busch ENSafrica Windhoek, Namibia sbusch@ENSafrica.com
Carlos Camacho Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2840 carlos.camacho@ariaslaw.com
Luis Diego Castro Arias San Jose, Costa Rica +506 4036 2862 LuisDiego.Castro@ariaslaw.com
Esko Cate VILAF Ho Chi Minh City esko.cate@vilaf.com.vn
Cesar Cruz Ayala Santamarina y Steta S.C. Monterrey, Mexico +52 81 8133 6002 ccruz@s-s.mx
John Paul De Leon SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines jpvdeleon@syciplaw.com
Vladislav Eltovskiy CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +7 49 5786 4000 vladislav.eltovskiy@cmslegal.ru
Dimitris Emvalomenos Bahas, Gramatidis & Partners Athens, Greece d.emvalomenos@bahagram.com
Nicolas Ferla Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina 93513533470 nferla@alfarolaw.com
Martin Gantzhorn Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark +4525263636 mdg@bechbruun.com
Vivian Gazel Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2803 vivian.gazel@ariaslaw.com
Elliot Greenstone Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada egreenstone@dwpv.com
Markus Haeuser CMS Germany Berlin, Germany markus.haeuser@cms-hs.com
Susumu Hanawa Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand susumu.hanawa@chandlermhm.com
April Holland Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8296 april.holland@millermartin.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Paul Kallenbach MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia paul.kallenbach@minterellison.com
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Oliver Kuusk Sorainen Tallinn oliver.kuusk@sorainen.com
Franco Aristotle Larcina SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines +632 982 3500 fglarcina@syciplaw.com
Jorge León-Orantes Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Vicente Lines Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2810 vicente.lines@ariaslaw.com
Santiago Madalena Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay smadalena@guyer.com.uy
Roberta Mark Sorainen Tallinn roberta.mark@sorainen.com
Monique McAlister Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada mmcalister@goodmans.ca
K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2921 shanti@shearndelamore.com
Eva Oruvee Sorainen Tallinn, Estonia +372 56621084 eva.oruvee@sorainen.com
Urania Paulino Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic 8092233308 upaulino@pellerano.com
Eduardo Pellerano Nadal Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic 8296498699 epellerano@pellerano.com
Jeremiah Posedel Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1504 jeremiah.posedel@faegredrinker.com
Jose Ramon Ayala Santamarina y Steta S.C. Querétaro, Mexico +52 442 2900 290 jayala@s-s.mx
Judith Riordan Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland +353 1 614 5201 jriordan@mhc.ie
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Suganthi Singam Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2829 suganthi@shearndelamore.com
Onur Sumer Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey osumer@herguner.av.tr
Alan Sutin Greenberg Traurig, LLP Miami, Florida - U.S.A. +1 305 579 0638 sutina@gtlaw.com
Janet Toh Yoong San Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2978 janet.toh@shearndelamore.com
Torsten Torpe Bech-Bruun Copenhagen 004525263987 tor@bechbruun.com
Deniz Tuncel Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey dtuncel@herguner.av.tr
Panupan Udomsuvannakul Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok panupan.u@mhm-global.com
Astrid Wagner Arendt & Medernach Luxembourg, Luxembourg astrid.wagner@arendt.com
Eija Warma-Lehtinen Castrén & Snellman Helsinki, Finland +35 82 0776 5376 eija.warma@castren.fi
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Richmond, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com
Ashley LeCroy World Law Group Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada +1 202 904 2477 alecroy@theworldlawgroup.com