Practice & Industry Groups

Artificial Intelligence

Artificial Intelligence represents a major technological, economic and social change that has entered the mainstream. Worldwide, there are many hubs for AI research and development and we want WLG members to be widely viewed as preferred counsel for material AI commercial or corporate finance transactions, disputes and legal developments, because of our expertise, creativity/imagination, and ethical professionalism. We want to be involved with exciting AI developments, so that we are working in a highly internationalized, intellectually challenging, new and remunerative sector.

As a member, the client focuses will be:

  1. Generating AI-related work from existing and prospective non-AI clients;
  2. Generating AI-related work from new and current AI clients; and
  3. Supporting/generating capital markets/M&A work regarding acquisitions and financings of AI businesses.

Although not pigeonholed by area of law, we anticipate AI requiring more than technology law expertise:

  1. Technology and Commercial (e.g. contract provisions for the purchase or use of AI or AI output, and the use of AI to form contracts)
  2. Corporate (Tax, Financing, M&A, Securities, Governance)
  3. Data protection/privacy/cybersecurity (e.g. risk management strategies for training an AI without contravening privacy legislation. Protecting AI from cyber-attacks and from implementing unintended cyber-attacks against other systems)
  4. Intellectual Property (e.g., patent and copyright protection for AI itself and for works created by AI. Ownership of AI output)
  5. Regulatory (Consumer Protection, Health, and Non-Discrimination) and AI user Compliance
  6. Competition (e.g. inter-AI system collusion and price-fixing. Amassing big data for AI training and exclusion of others)
  7. Dispute Resolution and Crisis Management(e.g. contract breach caused by AI. Product liability for AI. Infringement with respect to accessing data for AI training)

Upcoming Events

Resources

WLG Collaborations, WLG News

You're invited to join WLG's Artificial Intelligence group for their 2020 webinar series.

Legal Update

On June 20, 2019 the French Authority published a best practice guide for the implementation and exercise of tele consultation and tele-expertise activities.

Legal Update

The Council of the European Union has adopted the Conclusions on the future a highly digitalized Europe beyond 2020: “Boosting digital and economic competitiveness across the Union and digital cohesion.” It defines a route map to guide the European digital policy as of 2020.

Members
Main Contacts
Johannes Juranek CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Vienna, Austria johannes.juranek@cms-rrh.com
Peter Ruby Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +1 416 597 4184 pruby@goodmans.ca
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Carlos Camacho Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2840 carlos.camacho@ariaslaw.com
John Paul De Leon SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines jpvdeleon@syciplaw.com
Vladislav Eltovskiy CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +7 49 5786 4000 vladislav.eltovskiy@cmslegal.ru
Markus Haeuser CMS Germany Berlin, Germany markus.haeuser@cms-hs.com
April Holland Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8296 april.holland@millermartin.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Paul Kallenbach MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia paul.kallenbach@minterellison.com
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Jorge Martins PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal +35 12 1159 2573 jorge.silvamartins@plmj.pt
K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2921 shanti@shearndelamore.com
Jeremiah Posedel Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1504 jeremiah.posedel@dbr.com
Jose Ramon Ayala Santamarina y Steta S.C. Querétaro, Mexico +52 442 2900 290 jayala@s-s.mx
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Suganthi Singam Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2829 suganthi@shearndelamore.com
Alan Sutin Greenberg Traurig, LLP Miami, Florida - U.S.A. +1 305 579 0638 sutina@gtlaw.com
Janet Toh Yoong San Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2978 janet.toh@shearndelamore.com
Eija Warma-Lehtinen Castrén & Snellman Helsinki, Finland +35 82 0776 5376 eija.warma@castren.fi
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com