Practice & Industry Groups

Compliance & Investigations

In recent years, corporate compliance has taken special relevance, as a growing number of local and transnational regulations have been enacted all over the world to attend to increasing concern of lawmakers and regulators on preventing, investigating, and prosecuting: (i) corruption and bribery, (ii) white-collar crimes, (iii) money laundering, and (iv) fraud in government contracts and procurement, both in the national and international scenes.

From recent and well-known international scandals, more and more corporations are seeing an increased value in investing in strong compliance programs, not only focused on prevention of this conduct, but also on training, auditing, and investigating any corporate misbehavior.

As a result, compliance practice areas have emerged and lawyers have been deeply trained to handle these kinds of cases in most of the largest firms in the world.

WLG's Compliance & Investigations Group focuses on anti-corruption and anti-bribery, white-collar crimes, anti-money laundering, internal investigations related to the aforementioned topics, and compliance programs.

Resources

Legal Update
The Thai Revenue Department recently issued a notification related to transfer pricing.
Member Firm News
Sorainen has launched a new service – communication with INTERPOL and EUROPOL – to help our clients with preventive actions as well as challenging the international organisations’ activities and with the data processed by them.
Legal Update
Bruchou participated in the Bribery & Corruption Law Argentina chapter published by The Legal 500. The chapter provides insight about the current issues affecting bribery & corruption practice and upcoming challenges for companies and legal professionals.
Members
Main Contacts Members
Konstantin Baranov CMS Russia Moscow, Russia Konstantin.Baranov@cmslegal.ru
María Fábrega Arias Panama, Panamá Maria.Fabrega@ariaslaw.com
Heriberto Garza C. Santamarina y Steta S.C. Monterrey, Mexico 52 81 8133 6010 hgarza@s-s.mx
Jeena Kim Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea jeena.kim@bkl.co.kr
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Yasuyuki Kuribayashi City-Yuwa Partners Tokyo, Japan yasuyuki.kuribayashi@city-yuwa.com
Katariina Kuum Sorainen Tallinn Katariina.kuum@sorainen.com
Jyeshta Mahendran Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2881 jyeshta@shearndelamore.com
Alison Martin Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8243 alison.martin@millermartin.com
Gustavo Mena Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic 18092233015 gmena@pellerano.com
Guillermo Moreno M. Santamarina y Steta S.C. Querétaro, Mexico +52 442 290 0292 gmoreno@s-s.mx
Léon Moubayed Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada +1 514 841 6461 lmoubayed@dwpv.com
Nik Azila Nik Abdullah Shearn Delamore & Co. KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia 0126816940 nik.azila@shearndelamore.com
Eva Oruvee Sorainen Tallinn, Estonia +372 56621084 eva.oruvee@sorainen.com
Laura Workman Arnold & Porter Washington, DC laura.workman@arnoldporter.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Richmond, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com