Practice & Industry Groups

Privacy & Data Protection

World Law Group’s Privacy & Data Protection Group is made up of member firm lawyers who have data protection, privacy and related compliance work as a focus of their practice, both in their countries and globally. The group’s goal is to provide relevant and seamless client services, including in cross-border data transfers, privacy risk assessment and data breach notification services to multinational entities, and to develop proactive compliance procedures and techniques in this fast-growing field.

Group members from around the world meet regularly by teleconference and at WLG conferences to exchange information about emerging privacy issues and challenges for multinational and local-country clients, and to work together on various projects. Group members collaborate on unique and highly regarded information resources, and organize webinars on emerging developments for members and clients.

Upcoming Events

Resources

Legal Update

As part of its action plan on targeted advertisement, the French Data Protection Authority is proposing a consultation on a draft recommendation on practical procedures for collecting user consent for the use of online trackers.

Legal Update

The entry into force on December 16, 2019 of Directive 2019/1937 of October 23, 2019 on the protection of persons who report breaches of EU Law is a major step forward in encouraging Member States to go beyond the common minimum standards by creating a harmonized framework within the EU.

Legal Update, Member Firm News

Goodmans Guide to Doing Business in Canada was developed to provide executives, counseland potential United States and foreign investors with a practical overview of Canada’s legal framework and keybusiness legislation.

Members
Main Contacts
Ted Augustinos Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. +1 860 541 7710 ted.augustinos@lockelord.com
Christian Runte CMS Germany Munich, Germany +49 892 3807 christian.runte@cms-hs.com
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Karen Abraham Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2893 karen@shearndelamore.com
Niels Michael Andersen Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark nma@bechbruun.com
Sofa Anza Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +29 021 515 sanza@guyer.com.uy
Bente Bahnsen Taylor Wessing Hamburg, Germany B.Bahnsen@taylorwessing.com
Peter Blenkinsop Faegre Drinker Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202-230-5142 peter.blenkinsop@dbr.com
Ridwaan Boda ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa rboda@ensafrica.com
David Bogan Locke Lord LLP Hartford, Connecticut - U.S.A. david.bogan@lockelord.com
Nathaniel Bolin Faegre Drinker Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 230 5888 nate.bolin@dbr.com
Darren Cahr Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1465 darren.cahr@dbr.com
Carlos Camacho Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2840 carlos.camacho@ariaslaw.com
Florencia Castagnola Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +29 021 515 fcastagnola@guyer.com.uy
Cesar Cruz Ayala Santamarina y Steta S.C. Monterrey, Mexico +52 81 8133 6002 ccruz@s-s.mx
Kenneth Davis, II Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. +1 503 778 2121 davisk@lanepowell.com
John Paul De Leon SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines jpvdeleon@syciplaw.com
Senem Denktas Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey sdenktas@herguner.av.tr
Mary Devlin Capizzi Faegre Drinker Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. mary.devlincapizzi@dbr.com
Jeff Dodd Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP Houston, Texas - U.S.A. jeffdodd@HuntonAK.com
Renaud Dupont CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium +322 743 6983 renaud.dupont@cms-db.com
Marcela Waksman Ejnisman TozziniFreire Advogados São Paulo, Brazil +55 11 5086 5467 mejnisman@tozzinifreire.com.br
Vladislav Eltovskiy CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +7 49 5786 4000 vladislav.eltovskiy@cmslegal.ru
Julie Engbloom Lane Powell PC Portland, Oregon - U.S.A. +1 503 778 2183 engbloomj@lanepowell.com
Charles Forlidas Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. charles.forlidas@millermartin.com
Christian Frank Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany c.frank@taylorwessing.com
Axel Funk CMS Germany Stuttgart, Germany +49 711 9764 734 axel.funk@cms-hs.com
Vivian Gazel Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2803 vivian.gazel@ariaslaw.com
Melike Gencalp Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey mgencalp@herguner.av.tr
Ed Getz Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1470 edwin.getz@dbr.com
Elliot Greenstone Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada egreenstone@dwpv.com
April Holland Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8296 april.holland@millermartin.com
Thomas (Jeff) Jefferson Locke Lord LLP Providence, Rhode Island - U.S.A. +1 401 276 6417 jeff.jefferson@lockelord.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Johannes Juranek CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Vienna, Austria johannes.juranek@cms-rrh.com
Paul Kallenbach MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia paul.kallenbach@minterellison.com
Haroun Khwaja Al Tamimi & Company Dubai, United Arab Emirates +971 4 364 1641 h.khwaja@tamimi.com
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Amy Land Pejoska Al Tamimi & Company Riyadh, Saudi Arabia 966560963083 a.pejoska@tamimi.com
Franco Aristotle Larcina SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines +632 982 3500 fglarcina@syciplaw.com
Jorge Leon-Orantes Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Jyeshta Mahendran Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2881 jyeshta@shearndelamore.com
Alison Martin Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8243 alison.martin@millermartin.com
Laura Martinez Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico 525552795400 lamartinez@s-s.mx
Jorge Martins PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal +35 12 1159 2573 jorge.silvamartins@plmj.pt
Reemt Matthiesen CMS Germany Munich, Germany +49 89 23807 reemt.matthiesen@cms-hs.com
Robert McDonagh Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland +353 1 614 5000 rmcdonagh@mhc.ie
K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2921 shanti@shearndelamore.com
Rabindra Nathan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia rabindra@shearndelamore.com
Philip Nolan Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland pnolan@mhc.ie
Nancy Perkins Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. nancy.perkins@aporter.com
Jeremiah Posedel Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1504 jeremiah.posedel@dbr.com
Glenn Pudelka Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. 617-239-0371 glenn.pudelka@lockelord.com
Jose Ramon Ayala Santamarina y Steta S.C. Querétaro, Mexico +52 442 2900 290 jayala@s-s.mx
Veerle Raus CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium veerle.raus@cms-db.com
Fiona Robertson Al Tamimi & Company Dubai, United Arab Emirates f.robertson@tamimi.com
Sebastian Rodrigo Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +54 11 4393 3003 srodrigo@alfarolaw.com
Peter Ruby Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +1 416 597 4184 pruby@goodmans.ca
Darin Sands Lane Powell PC Portland, Oregon - U.S.A. +1 503 778 2117 sandsd@lanepowell.com
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Indran Shanmuganathan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2873 indran@shearndelamore.com
Jeppe Songe-Moller Advokatfirmaet Schjødt Oslo, Norway 47 23 011 564 jsm@schjodt.no
Anind Thomas AZB & Partners Mumbai, India anind.thomas@azbpartners.com
Deniz Tuncel Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey dtuncel@herguner.av.tr
Katja van Kranenburg-Hanspians CMS Netherlands Amsterdam, Netherlands + 31 20 3016402 katja.vankranenburg@cms-dsb.com
Eija Warma-Lehtinen Castrén & Snellman Helsinki, Finland +35 82 0776 5376 eija.warma@castren.fi
Nicolai Wiegand Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany n.wiegand@taylorwessing.com
Steven Winters Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. winterss@lanepowell.com
John Wolf Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands jwolf@campbellslegal.com
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com