Practice & Industry Groups

Privacy & Data Protection

Lawyers in World Law Group’s Privacy & Data Protection Group specialize in the complex and evolving field of privacy, data protection, and cybersecurity. They advise clients of all sizes across industries on legal matters related to the collection, use, storage, and sharing of personal information. Types of matters include:

  • compliance with privacy requirements such as the Global Data Protection Regulation, the California Consumer Privacy Act, and other global and regional privacy laws;
  • data governance;
  • cybersecurity requirements;
  • data breach response;
  • privacy impact assessments;
  • due diligence and drafting of representations and warranties in corporate transactions;
  • drafting and negotiation of contracts with service providers;
  • preparation of cross-border data transfer agreements;
  • employee training;
  • data transfers; and
  • privacy impact litigation.

In today’s digital age where data transcends international borders and global privacy laws continue to evolve, lawyers in this group regularly collaborate on multi-national client matters related to cross-border data transfers, privacy risk assessments, data breach notifications, and the development of proactive compliance programs for international enterprises. Group members meet regularly via virtual meetings and in person at industry conferences such as IAPP to exchange information about emerging privacy and data protection challenges for multinational and local clients. Group members also work together on projects such as the preparation of Global Data Breach Guides.

World Law Group’s Privacy & Data Protection Group frequently partners with other World Law Group practice groups sharing intersecting practice areas, such as Labor & Employment, Technology, Intellectual Property, and Corporate Transactions, in order to foster information sharing and a holistic approach to meeting the needs of members’ clients.

Not already a member of this group? Use the "Join Group" button above to join to receive relevant communications and participate in the group's initiatives.

Have you written a legal update or thought leadership related to Privacy & Data Protection? Share it on the WLG website using the "Upload" button above.

Resources

Member Firm Events

Join member firm Castrén & Snellman for a webinar on September 20th at 11 AM EEST (Finnish time). In October 2020, it came to light that the patient records of Vastaamo, a Finnish chain of psychotherapy centres, had been hacked and leaked online. Very sensitive information concerning tens of thousands of patients was affected.

Member Voices

New WLG Privacy & Data Protection Group Co-chair Esko Cate of VILAF looks forward to group discussion at future meetings he'll help lead. As an American lawyer working in Vietnam, he is uniquely equipped to handle foreign investment matters.

Legal Update
On July 10, 2023, the European Commission adopted its adequacy decision for the EU-U.S. Data Privacy Framework. Personal data can henceforth flow safely from the European Union to U.S. companies adhering to the new Framework, without having to put in place additional data protection safeguards.
Resource

Presentation for the 2020 Fall eConference session "Privacy and Data Protection Issues for Employees in the COVID-19 Environment."

Members
Main Contacts
Theodore Augustinos Locke Lord LLP Hartford, U.S.A. - Connecticut +18605417710 ted.augustinos@lockelord.com
Esko Cate VILAF Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (439) 877-6865 esko.cate@vilaf.com.vn
Christian Runte CMS Germany Munich, Germany +498923807163 christian.runte@cms-hs.com
Hanna Shea Albany, U.S.A. - New York (120) 290-4247 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Karen Abraham Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2893 karen@shearndelamore.com
Muhammad Zen Amirudin muhammadzenamirudin7@gmail.com
Sofia Anza Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +29021515 sanza@guyer.com.uy
Amiel Arcangel amielarc@gmail.com
Theodore Augustinos Locke Lord LLP Hartford, U.S.A. - Connecticut +18605417710 ted.augustinos@lockelord.com
James Austin-Smith Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands jaustinsmith@campbellslegal.com
Ridwan Badmus rid14real@gmail.com
Desiree Barahona Arias San Jose, Costa Rica +50640362800 desiree.barahona@ariaslaw.com
Juan Carlos Batres Arias Guatemala, Guatemala (502) 238-2770 juancarlos.batres@ariaslaw.com
Ferdinand Benitez fsb@fsblaw.ph
Fredrik Berg ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa +27214102747 fberg@ensafrica.com
Zeyn Bhyat ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa (272) 141-0664 zbhyat@ensafrica.com
Vahdet Bıçak contact@bicakhukuk.com
Jane Blaney Faegre Drinker Minneapolis, U.S.A. - Minnesota (315) 506-3340 jane.blaney@faegredrinker.com
Peter Blenkinsop Faegre Drinker Washington, U.S.A. - Washington, DC +1 202-230-5142 peter.blenkinsop@faegredrinker.com
Ridwaan Boda ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa rboda@ensafrica.com
Ciara Browne Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland +35316142385 cbrowne@mhc.ie
Ngoc Anh Bui VILAF Hanoi, Vietnam (849) 060-2387 anh.bui@vilaf.com.vn
Federico Busatta Gianni & Origoni Milan, Italy (349) 550-3107 fbusatta@gop.it
Stefanie Busch ENSafrica Windhoek, Namibia (481) 772-1878 sbusch@ENSafrica.com
Daniel Bustos Novak D'Empaire Caracas, Venezuela (424) 348-5238 dbustos@dra.com.ve
Carlos Camacho Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2840 carlos.camacho@ariaslaw.com
Florencia Castagnola Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +29021515 fcastagnola@guyer.com.uy
Beth Castro District of Columbia, U.S.A. - Washington, DC +12029042477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Esko Cate VILAF Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (439) 877-6865 esko.cate@vilaf.com.vn
Veronica Christiani prf5lveronicach@gmail.com
Jonathan Clovin Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay jclovin@guyer.com.uy
Maria Camila Cozzi Pires de Oliveira Dias mariacamila@suguitadias.com.br
Kenneth Davis, II Lane Powell PC Seattle, U.S.A. - Washington +15037782121 davisk@lanepowell.com
Ajitkumar Deshpande adv.ajitkumar@yahoo.com
Mary Devlin Capizzi Faegre Drinker Washington, U.S.A. - Washington, DC mary.devlincapizzi@faegredrinker.com
Jeff Dodd Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP Houston, U.S.A. - Texas jeffdodd@HuntonAK.com
Rakhee Dullabh ENSafrica , South Africa rdullabh@ensafrica.com
Renaud Dupont CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium +322 743 6983 renaud.dupont@cms-db.com
Marcela Waksman Ejnisman TozziniFreire Advogados Sao Paulo, Brazil (551) 150-8654 mejnisman@tozzinifreire.com.br
Gultekin Erdur info@rumelihukuk.com
Lindsay Everitt Goodmans LLP Toronto, Canada - Ontario 416-597-4174 leveritt@goodmans.ca
Ileana Falla Greenberg Traurig, LLP Miami, U.S.A. - Florida 3055797862 fallai@gtlaw.com
Yuxin (Yukie) Fang Zhong Lun Law Firm Shanghai, China (136) 718-9293 fangyuxin@zhonglun.com
Sabrina Faraone Alfaro Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina sfaraone@alfarolaw.com
Adriana Ferreira Tavares TozziniFreire Advogados Plantation, Brazil (119) 748-6981 adferreira@tozzinifreire.com.br
YuenWah Foo fyw@ganlaw.my
Charles Forlidas Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, U.S.A. - Georgia charles.forlidas@millermartin.com
Katherine Francis Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands +13459492648 kpowell-francis@campbellslegal.com
Christian Frank Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany c.frank@taylorwessing.com
Axel Funk CMS Germany Stuttgart, Germany +49 711 9764 734 axel.funk@cms-hs.com
Vivian Gazel Arias San José, Costa Rica (506) 403-6280 vivian.gazel@ariaslaw.com
Kamila Gimenez Gross Brown Asuncion, Paraguay kgimenez@grossbrown.com.py
Pooja Gokani pooja.gokani@pwc.com
Elliot Greenstone Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Canada - Québec egreenstone@dwpv.com
Estefanía Guardia Arias Panama City, Panamá (507) 282-1411 estefania.guardia@ariaslaw.com
Rhiannon Hammond Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico 525514521401 rhiannon.hammond@s-s.mx
Pirkko-Liis Harkmaa Sorainen Tallinn pirkko.liis.harkmaa@sorainen.com
April Holland Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, U.S.A. - Tennessee (142) 378-5829 april.holland@millermartin.com
Thomas Jefferson Locke Lord LLP Providence, U.S.A. - Rhode Island +1 401 276 6417 jeff.jefferson@lockelord.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, U.S.A. - Georgia 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Johannes Juranek CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Vienna, Austria johannes.juranek@cms-rrh.com
Krishan Kakkar mediationhub1@gmail.com
Paul Kallenbach MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia paul.kallenbach@minterellison.com
Sujeet Karkala skarkala@outlook.com
Sareena Khatkur Goodmans LLP Toronto, Canada - Ontario +14165974156 skhatkur@goodmans.ca
Kwang Kim Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea KwangJun.kim@bkl.co.kr
Kirsi Koistinen Sorainen Tallinn kirsi.koistinen@sorainen.com
George Kountouris koudouris@koudourislaw.gr
Oliver Kuusk Sorainen Tallinn oliver.kuusk@sorainen.com
Lise-Lotte Laane Sorainen Tallinn, Estonia (372) 556-2235 lise-lotte.laane@sorainen.com
Pranat Laohapairoj Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand (681) 751-5868 pranat.l@mhm-global.com
Franco Aristotle Larcina SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Makati, Philippines +632 982 3500 fglarcina@syciplaw.com
Lise Lauridsen Bech-Bruun Aarhus, Denmark 004525263635 llau@bechbruun.com
Spiceroute legal spiceroutelegal@gmail.com
Kristy-Anne Leith Campbells Cayman Islands +3459145813 kleith@campbellslegal.com
Jorge León-Orantes Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico (525) 552-7954 jleon@s-s.mx
John David Lind Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, U.S.A. - Georgia 404-962-6457 johndavid.lind@millermartin.com
Sebastian Linera Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (809) 473-4545 slinera@pellerano.com
Francisco López Santoro Alfaro Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +5443933003 flopezsantoro@alfarolaw.com
LEONARDO MACIEL MARINHO leonardo@macielmarinho.com
Jyeshta Mahendran Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2881 jyeshta@shearndelamore.com
Jessica Major Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Canada - Québec (438) 494-7422 jmajor@dwpv.com
Alison Martin Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, U.S.A. - Tennessee +1 423 785 8243 alison.martin@millermartin.com
Reemt Matthiesen CMS Germany Munich, Germany +49 89 23807 reemt.matthiesen@cms-hs.com
Svenja Maucher Taylor Wessing Frankfurt am Main s.maucher@taylorwessing.com
Robert McDonagh Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland +353 1 614 5000 rmcdonagh@mhc.ie
Nicolas Eric Medeiros TozziniFreire Advogados Sao Paulo, Brazil nmedeiros@tozzinifreire.com.br
Peter Misur pmisur@seznam.cz
K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2921 shanti@shearndelamore.com
Paola Morales Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico +525552795508 pmorales@s-s.mx
Tori Mowery District of Columbia, Angola (120) 290-4247 tmowery@theworldlawgroup.com
Mukhtar Musa mmaa_720@hotmail.com
Henry Krisman Nababan djainurihenryattorney@gmail.com
Raymond Nduga raymonduga@gmail.com
Qiusi Newcom Faegre Drinker San Fransisco, U.S.A. - California +12022305370 qiusi.newcom@faegredrinker.com
KAYIJUKA Ngabo kayingabo@gmail.com
Ngan Nguyen VILAF Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam ngan.nguyen@vilaf.com.vn
Nik Azila Nik Abdullah Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +60320272610 nik.azila@shearndelamore.com
Supakan Nimmanterdwong Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand (662) 009-5173 supakan.n@mhm-global.com
Philip Nolan Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland pnolan@mhc.ie
Joseph Nwankwo joenwankwo94@yahoo.com
Cian O'Daly Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland +35316147721 codaly@mhc.ie
Eva Oruvee Sorainen Tallinn, Estonia +372 56621084 eva.oruvee@sorainen.com
Ji Park Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea jiyeon.park@bkl.co.kr
shruto pathak shruti.pathak@pwc.com
Urania Paulino Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (809) 473-4545 upaulino@pellerano.com
Daniella Pellerano Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic +18094734545 dpellerano@pellerano.com
Eduardo Pellerano Nadal Pellerano Nadal Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (829) 649-8699 epellerano@pellerano.com
Marcos Pereira da Fonseca marcos.pffonseca@gmail.com
jonathan polines jonpolines888@ymail.com
Jeremiah Posedel Faegre Drinker Chicago, U.S.A. - Illinois +13125691504 jeremiah.posedel@faegredrinker.com
Glenn Pudelka Locke Lord LLP Boston, U.S.A. - Massachusetts 617-239-0371 glenn.pudelka@lockelord.com
Ana Teresa Pulido anateresa.pulido@nga.pt
Lisa Pytel CMS Germany Hamburg, Germany lisa.pytel@cms-hs.com
Mohammed Forrukh Rahman head@rahmansc.com
José Ramón Ayala Santamarina y Steta S.C. Querétaro, Mexico (524) 422-9002 jayala@s-s.mx
Veerle Raus CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium veerle.raus@cms-db.com
Stephanie Richter Taylor Wessing Hamburg s.richter@taylorwessing.com
Sebastian Rodrigo Alfaro Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +541143933003 srodrigo@alfarolaw.com
Sebastian Rodrigo Alfaro Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina 541-143-9330 srodrigo@alfarolaw.com
Mikkel Friis Rossa Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark mif@bechbruun.com
Peter Ruby Goodmans LLP Toronto, Canada - Ontario +1 416 597 4184 pruby@goodmans.ca
Christian Runte CMS Germany Munich, Germany +498923807163 christian.runte@cms-hs.com
Kwang Ryoo Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea kh.ryoo@bkl.co.kr
Ana Sáez de Montagut Quijada Cuatrecasas Madrid, Spain ana.saezdemontagut@cuatrecasas.com
Florence Saldanha florence@acuitylaw.co.in
Aaron Sankar aaron@asclaw.my
Shrinivas Sankaran Vaish Associates Mumbai, India (982) 074-8652 shrinivas@vaishlaw.com
Katja Schiffelholz Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany k.schiffelholz@taylorwessing.com
Eric Schreiber e.w.schreiber@gmail.com
Indran Shanmuganathan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2873 indran@shearndelamore.com
Ghassan Shawli galshawli@acwapower.com
Hanna Shea Albany, U.S.A. - New York (120) 290-4247 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Waree Shinsirikul Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Angola +6620095188 waree.s@mhm-global.com
Navya Shukla Vaish Associates Mumbai, India navya@vaishlaw.com
Frederick Simanjuntak Makarim & Taira S. Jakarta, Indonesia (622) 150-8083 frederick.simanjuntak@makarim.com
Prabhpreet Singh prabhpreet.ufylc@gmail.com
Georgia Skouma gskouma@deloitte.com
Abraham A. Sokefun walesokefun@gmail.com
Jeppe Songe-Moller Schjødt Oslo, Norway 47 23 011 564 jeppe.songe-moller@schjodt.com
Dirk Spacek CMS Switzerland Zürich, Switzerland +41442851111 dirk.spacek@cms-vep.com
Sophia Spala Setterwalls Stockholm, Sweden +46705989192 sophia.spala@setterwalls.se
George Sprowls georgesprowls@gmail.com
Aline Steffen CMS Switzerland Zürich, Switzerland aline.steffen@cms-vep.com
Susanne Stougaard Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark +45 7227 3308 sus@bechbruun.com
Wilmari Strachan ENSafrica Stellenbosch, South Africa 0829268751 wstrachan@ensafrica.com
THEOPHILE SUGIRA nyembless@gmail.com
Charlene Sutherland ENSafrica Cape Town, South Africa csutherland@ensafrica.com
Alan Sutin Greenberg Traurig, LLP Coral Gables, U.S.A. - Florida (130) 557-9063 sutina@gtlaw.com
Astrid Svensson Setterwalls Gothenburg, Sweden (672) 500-1678 astrid.svensson@setterwalls.se
Rita Terradas Cuatrecasas Barcelona, Spain rita.terradas@cuatrecasas.com
Anind Thomas AZB & Partners Mumbai, India anind.thomas@azbpartners.com
John Tilak Toronto, Canada - Ontario john@thinksuite.co
Tim Toohey Greenberg Glusker LLP Los Angeles, U.S.A. - California TToohey@ggfirm.com
Mahmoud Turabi contact@maqamlaw.com
Panupan Udomsuvannakul Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand (682) 556-3888 panupan.u@mhm-global.com
Poompat Udomsuvannakul Chandler MHM Limited Bangkok, Thailand (662) 009-5000 poompat.u@mhm-global.com
Christian Ukpe Aarhus, Angola chrisukpe@gmail.com
Jose Valentin Gonzalez D'Empaire Caracas, Venezuela jgonzalez@dra.com.ve
Katja Van Kranenburg CMS Netherlands Amsterdam, Netherlands +31203016402 katja.vankranenburg@cms-dsb.comm
Daniele Vecchi Gianni & Origoni Milan, Italy +3902763741 dvecchi@gop.it
GOVIND VEKARIYA govindvekariya@gmail.com
Astrid Wagner Arendt & Medernach Luxembourg, Luxembourg astrid.wagner@arendt.com
Nicolai Wiegand Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany n.wiegand@taylorwessing.com
Maciej Wiklo Warsaw, Poland info4mat@gmail.com
Steven Winters Lane Powell PC Seattle, U.S.A. - Washington 2062237740 winterss@lanepowell.com
John Wolf Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands jwolf@campbellslegal.com
Camila Zubillaga Guyer & Regules Aarhus, Uruguay czubillaga@guyer.com.uy
Branka Zulj bzulj@yahoo.de