Practice & Industry Groups

Privacy & Data Protection

World Law Group’s Privacy & Data Protection Group is made up of member firm lawyers who have data protection, privacy and related compliance work as a focus of their practice, both in their countries and globally. The group’s goal is to provide relevant and seamless client services, including in cross-border data transfers, privacy risk assessment and data breach notification services to multinational entities, and to develop proactive compliance procedures and techniques in this fast-growing field.

Group members from around the world meet regularly by teleconference and at WLG conferences to exchange information about emerging privacy issues and challenges for multinational and local-country clients, and to work together on various projects. Group members collaborate on unique and highly regarded information resources, and organize webinars on emerging developments for members and clients.

Resources

Legal Update
The Ministry of Communications and Information and the Personal Data Protection Commission have just announced a public consultation on a proposed amendment bill to the Personal Data Protection Act (“PDPA”). The consultation period will end on 28 May 2020.
Legal Update

Updates on employment, technology, media, data protection and business continuity.

Legal Update

COVID-19 related updates on banking and finance, corporate, dispute resolution, intellectual property, mine and occupational health and safety, personal advisory, tax, technology, media, data protection and business continuity.

Members
Main Contacts
Ted Augustinos Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. +1 860 541 7710 ted.augustinos@lockelord.com
Christian Runte CMS Germany Munich, Germany +49 892 3807 christian.runte@cms-hs.com
Hanna Shea World Law Group Denver, Colorado - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 hshea@theworldlawgroup.com
Members
Karen Abraham Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2893 karen@shearndelamore.com
Niels Michael Andersen Bech-Bruun Copenhagen, Denmark nma@bechbruun.com
Sofa Anza Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +29 021 515 sanza@guyer.com.uy
James Austin-Smith Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands jaustinsmith@campbellslegal.com
Bente Bahnsen Taylor Wessing Hamburg, Germany B.Bahnsen@taylorwessing.com
Peter Blenkinsop Faegre Drinker Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202-230-5142 peter.blenkinsop@faegredrinker.com
Ridwaan Boda ENSafrica Johannesburg, South Africa rboda@ensafrica.com
Nathaniel Bolin Faegre Drinker Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 230 5888 nate.bolin@faegredrinker.com
Darren Cahr Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1465 darren.cahr@faegredrinker.com
Carlos Camacho Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2840 carlos.camacho@ariaslaw.com
Florencia Castagnola Guyer & Regules Montevideo, Uruguay +29 021 515 fcastagnola@guyer.com.uy
Cesar Cruz Ayala Santamarina y Steta S.C. Monterrey, Mexico +52 81 8133 6002 ccruz@s-s.mx
Kenneth Davis, II Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. +1 503 778 2121 davisk@lanepowell.com
John Paul De Leon SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines jpvdeleon@syciplaw.com
Senem Denktas Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey sdenktas@herguner.av.tr
Mary Devlin Capizzi Faegre Drinker Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. mary.devlincapizzi@faegredrinker.com
Jeff Dodd Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP Houston, Texas - U.S.A. jeffdodd@HuntonAK.com
Rakhee Dullabh ENSafrica , South Africa rdullabh@ensafrica.com
Renaud Dupont CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium +322 743 6983 renaud.dupont@cms-db.com
Marcela Waksman Ejnisman TozziniFreire Advogados São Paulo, Brazil +55 11 5086 5467 mejnisman@tozzinifreire.com.br
Vladislav Eltovskiy CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +7 49 5786 4000 vladislav.eltovskiy@cmslegal.ru
Julie Engbloom Lane Powell PC Portland, Oregon - U.S.A. +1 503 778 2183 engbloomj@lanepowell.com
Charles Forlidas Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. charles.forlidas@millermartin.com
Christian Frank Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany c.frank@taylorwessing.com
Axel Funk CMS Germany Stuttgart, Germany +49 711 9764 734 axel.funk@cms-hs.com
Vivian Gazel Arias San José, Costa Rica +506 4036 2803 vivian.gazel@ariaslaw.com
Melike Gencalp Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey mgencalp@herguner.av.tr
Elliot Greenstone Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Montréal, Québec - Canada egreenstone@dwpv.com
April Holland Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8296 april.holland@millermartin.com
Thomas (Jeff) Jefferson Locke Lord LLP Providence, Rhode Island - U.S.A. +1 401 276 6417 jeff.jefferson@lockelord.com
Lisa Jones Miller & Martin PLLC Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A. 404-962-6469 lisa.jones@millermartin.com
Johannes Juranek CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Vienna, Austria johannes.juranek@cms-rrh.com
Paul Kallenbach MinterEllison Melbourne, Australia paul.kallenbach@minterellison.com
Haroun Khwaja Al Tamimi & Company Dubai, United Arab Emirates +971 4 364 1641 h.khwaja@tamimi.com
Kwang Kim Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea KwangJun.kim@bkl.co.kr
Anastasia Kotenkova CMS Russia Moscow, Russia +74957864000 anastasia.kotenkova@cmslegal.ru
Amy Land Pejoska Al Tamimi & Company Riyadh, Saudi Arabia 966560963083 a.pejoska@tamimi.com
Franco Aristotle Larcina SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan Manila, Philippines +632 982 3500 fglarcina@syciplaw.com
Jorge Leon-Orantes Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico +52 55 5279 5452 jleon@s-s.mx
Jyeshta Mahendran Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2881 jyeshta@shearndelamore.com
Alison Martin Miller & Martin PLLC Chattanooga, Tennessee - U.S.A. +1 423 785 8243 alison.martin@millermartin.com
Laura Martinez Santamarina y Steta S.C. Mexico City, Mexico 525552795400 lamartinez@s-s.mx
Jorge Martins PLMJ Lisboa, Portugal +35 12 1159 2573 jorge.silvamartins@plmj.pt
Reemt Matthiesen CMS Germany Munich, Germany +49 89 23807 reemt.matthiesen@cms-hs.com
Robert McDonagh Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland +353 1 614 5000 rmcdonagh@mhc.ie
K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2921 shanti@shearndelamore.com
Rabindra Nathan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia rabindra@shearndelamore.com
Philip Nolan Mason Hayes & Curran Dublin, Ireland pnolan@mhc.ie
Ji Park Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea jiyeon.park@bkl.co.kr
Nancy Perkins Arnold & Porter Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. nancy.perkins@aporter.com
Jeremiah Posedel Faegre Drinker Chicago, Illinois - U.S.A. +1 312 569 1504 jeremiah.posedel@faegredrinker.com
Glenn Pudelka Locke Lord LLP Boston, Massachusetts - U.S.A. 617-239-0371 glenn.pudelka@lockelord.com
Jose Ramon Ayala Santamarina y Steta S.C. Querétaro, Mexico +52 442 2900 290 jayala@s-s.mx
Veerle Raus CMS Belgium Brussels, Belgium veerle.raus@cms-db.com
Fiona Robertson Al Tamimi & Company Dubai, United Arab Emirates f.robertson@tamimi.com
Sebastian Rodrigo Alfaro-Abogados Buenos Aires, Argentina +54 11 4393 3003 srodrigo@alfarolaw.com
Peter Ruby Goodmans LLP Toronto, Ontario - Canada +1 416 597 4184 pruby@goodmans.ca
Kwang Ryoo Bae, Kim & Lee LLC Seoul, South Korea kh.ryoo@bkl.co.kr
Darin Sands Lane Powell PC Portland, Oregon - U.S.A. +1 503 778 2117 sandsd@lanepowell.com
Jeenal Shah AZB & Partners Mumbai, India jeenal.shah@azbpartners.com
Indran Shanmuganathan Shearn Delamore & Co. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia +603 2027 2873 indran@shearndelamore.com
Jeppe Songe-Moller Advokatfirmaet Schjødt Oslo, Norway 47 23 011 564 jsm@schjodt.no
Alan Sutin Greenberg Traurig, LLP Miami, Florida - U.S.A. +1 305 579 0638 sutina@gtlaw.com
Anind Thomas AZB & Partners Mumbai, India anind.thomas@azbpartners.com
Tim Toohey Greenberg Glusker LLP Los Angeles, California - U.S.A. TToohey@ggfirm.com
Deniz Tuncel Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Istanbul, Turkey dtuncel@herguner.av.tr
Jose Valentin Gonzalez D'Empaire Caracas, Venezuela jgonzalez@dra.com.ve
Katja van Kranenburg-Hanspians CMS Netherlands Amsterdam, Netherlands + 31 20 3016402 katja.vankranenburg@cms-dsb.com
Bhuvana Veeraragavan AZB & Partners Bangalore, India Bhuvana.Veeraragavan@azbpartners.com
Eija Warma-Lehtinen Castrén & Snellman Helsinki, Finland +35 82 0776 5376 eija.warma@castren.fi
Nicolai Wiegand Taylor Wessing Munich, Germany n.wiegand@taylorwessing.com
Steven Winters Lane Powell PC Seattle, Washington - U.S.A. winterss@lanepowell.com
John Wolf Campbells Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands jwolf@campbellslegal.com
Beth Castro World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2477 bcastro@theworldlawgroup.com
Tori Drayer World Law Group Washington, District of Columbia - U.S.A. +1 202 904 2488 tdrayer@theworldlawgroup.com