Employer COVID-19 Vaccine Policies

We asked our member firms around the globe to provide some insight on employer and employee rights when it comes to requiring the COVID-19 vaccine to return to work. Can an employer compel compulsory vaccination? If yes, are there any exceptions or special circumstances that an employer must consider? Can employees refuse to be vaccinated - how does this balance against the freedom of choice and the obligation to provide a safe work environment? In the event of a refusal can an employee be dismissed for refusal to comply with such a vaccination policy - will that constitute just cause for termination? Click on a country to view the responses for that jurisdiction.

We will continue to update this page with additional countries and new information.

COVID-Vaccine-Option-2.jpeg

Argentina

Contributor:
Laura LaFuente, Alfaro-Abogados
LLaFuente@alfarolaw.com

Australia

Contributors:
MinterEllison
Gordon Williams, Gordon.Williams@minterellison.com
David Paterson, David.Paterson@minterellison.com
Sam Quinn, Sam.Quinn@minterellison.com
Olivia Borgese, Olivia.Borgese@minterellison.com

Belgium

Contributor:
Gaël Chuffart, CMS Belgium
gael.chuffart@cms-db.com

Brazil

Contributors:
TozziniFreire
Ana Carolina Maciel Ribeiro de Almeida
amaciel@tozzinifreire.com.br
Gabriela Lima Arantes
glima@tozzinifreire.com.br

Canada

Contributors:
Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
Louise Patry, lpatry@dwpv.com
Arianna Yoffe, ayoffe@dwpv.com

China

Contributor
Kent Woo, Zhong Lun
kentwoo@zhonglun.com

Costa Rica

Contributor:
Carolina Soto Monge, Arias
Carolina.Soto@ariaslaw.com

England

Contributor:
Jonathan Chamberlain, Gowling WLG
Jonathan.Chamberlain@gowlingwlg.com

Finland

Contributor:
Outi Tähtinen, Castrén & Snellman
outi.tahtinen@castren.fi

France

Contributor:
Fabien Pomart, Soulier Avocats
f.pomart@soulier-avocats.com

Germany

Contributor:
Dr. Michael Pils, Taylor Wessing
M.Pils@taylorwessing.com

India

Contributors:

AZB & Partners
Nohid Nooreyezdan, nohid.nooreyezdan@azbpartners.com
Bhuvana Veeraragavan, bhuvana.veeraragavan@azbpartners.com

Vaish Associates
Vinay Vaish, vinay@vaishlaw.com

Italy

Contributors:
Gianni & Origoni
Raffaella Betti Berutto, rbetti@gop.it
Chiara Palombi, cpalombi@gop.it

Japan

Contributors:
City-Yuwa Partners
Yasuyuki Kuribayashi, yasuyuki.kuribayashi@city-yuwa.com
Yuki Takahashi, yuki.takahashi@city-yuwa.com

Luxembourg

Contributors:
Arendt & Medernach
Philippe Schmit, Philippe.Schmit@arendt.com
Louisa Silcox, Louisa.Silcox@arendt.com
Elise Wojciechowski, Elise.Wojciechowski@arendt.com

Malaysia

Contributor:
Suganthi Singam, Shearn Delamore & Co.
suganthi@shearndelamore.com

Mexico

Contributor:
Franciso Udave, Santamarina y Steta
fudave@s-s.mx

Peru

Contributor:
Cristina Oviedo, Payet, Rey, Cauvi, Pérez Abogados
coa@prcp.com.pe

Paraguay

Gross Brown
Sigfrido Gross Brown, sigfrido@grossbrown.com.py
Sol Avalos, savalos@grossbrown.com.py
Kamila Gimenez, kgimenez@grossbrown.com.py

Philippines

Contributor:
Ronald Mark C. Lleno, SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan
rmclleno@syciplaw.com

Portugal

Contributor:
Nuno Ferreira Morgado, PLMJ
nuno.morgado@plmj.pt

Russia

Contributors:
CMS Russia
Christophe Huet, christophe.huet@cmslegal.ru
Ekaterina Elekchyan, ekaterina.elekchyan@cmslegal.ru

Singapore

Contributor:
Jenny Tsin, WongPartnership LLP
jenny.tsin@wongpartnership.com

South Africa

Contributors:
ENSafrica
Lauren Salt, lsalt@ensafrica.com
Jessie Moore, jmoore@ensafrica.com

Spain

Contributor:
Álvaro Fernández Sánchez del Corral, Cuatrecasas
alvaro.fernandez@cuatrecasas.com

United Arab Emirates

Contributor
Ivor McGettigan, Al Tamimi & Company
I.McGettigan@tamimi.com

United States

Contributor:
David Woolf, Faegre Drinker
david.woolf@faegredrinker.com

Uruguay

Contributor:
Santiago Madalena, Guyer & Regules
smadalena@guyer.com.uy